Top State Trooper Honored At Capitol

Frankfort, KY – Cited for an "investigative tenacity, perseverance and attention to detail" that resulted in convictions in two major felony cases last year, Trooper Andy Olson is the 2008 Trooper of the Year. The five-year Kentucky State Police veteran is assigned to Post 15 in Columbia. "The people we work with, to be chosen among them as Trooper of the Year, it's a great honor. It's a good feeling to get out there and help somebody and then, moreover , to be recognized, like I said, among your peers."

Larry Farris of Maysville is the 2008 Vehicle Enforcement Officer of the Year. Seventy other awards for valor, bravery, life-saving acts, meritorious service, professionalism and dedication were also presented. Justice Secretary Michael Brown and KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer handed out the awards.