President Declares Kentucky a Disaster Area

Mar 7, 2012

 LOUISVILLE, Ky.  - President Barack Obama has declared a disaster area in Kentucky, releasing federal funding for people in seven counties affected by last week's tornadoes and severe storms.

The counties are Johnson, Kenton, Laurel, Lawrence, Menifee, Morgan and Pendleton. The White House and Gov. Steve Beshear said damage surveys are continuing, and more counties may be designated.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other forms of recovery assistance.

Tornadoes on Friday killed 22 people in Kentucky.