Rupp Arena http://wuky.org en Rethinking Rupp And Welcoming The Breeder's Cup On This Week's BizLexChat http://wuky.org/post/rethinking-rupp-and-welcoming-breeders-cup-weeks-bizlexchat <p>On this week's BizLexChat, we discuss the collapse of negotiations on the city's Rupp Arena project and a move to Lexington for the Breeder's Cup. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 05:14:00 +0000 Josh James 50801 at http://wuky.org Rethinking Rupp And Welcoming The Breeder's Cup On This Week's BizLexChat Work Halted On Rupp Project http://wuky.org/post/work-halted-rupp-project <p>Mayor Jim Gray has suspended work on the controversial $350 million dollar Rupp Arena renovation project. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 20:08:50 +0000 Josh James 50695 at http://wuky.org Work Halted On Rupp Project Rupp Project Divides Mayoral Hopefuls http://wuky.org/post/rupp-project-divides-mayoral-hopefuls <p>Lexington’s three mayoral candidates clashed Thursday morning over the city’s ambitious Rupp Arena redesign. Thu, 01 May 2014 20:56:27 +0000 Josh James 48340 at http://wuky.org Rupp Project Divides Mayoral Hopefuls New Rupp Financing Plan Reduces Size, Ups Bonding Capacity http://wuky.org/post/new-rupp-financing-plan-reduces-size-ups-bonding-capacity <p>State, city, and University of Kentucky officials met this afternoon to discuss a revised financing plan for the Rupp Arena renovation project. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 19:48:41 +0000 Josh James 47447 at http://wuky.org New Rupp Financing Plan Reduces Size, Ups Bonding Capacity Mayor's Budget: Senior Center Upgrade, 45 New Positions, $40M In Bonds For Rupp http://wuky.org/post/mayors-budget-senior-center-upgrade-45-new-positions-40m-bonds-rupp <p>Lexington Mayor Jim Gray laid out his FY 2015 budget proposal Tuesday. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 23:07:29 +0000 Josh James 47166 at http://wuky.org Mayor's Budget: Senior Center Upgrade, 45 New Positions, $40M In Bonds For Rupp Beshear Continues Push For Rupp Funding http://wuky.org/post/beshear-continues-push-rupp-funding <p>Gov. Steve Beshear is keeping up the pressure on lawmakers in Frankfort to fund the Rupp Arena redesign. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:24:12 +0000 Josh James 46920 at http://wuky.org Beshear Continues Push For Rupp Funding New Rupp Arena Designs Revealed http://wuky.org/post/new-rupp-arena-designs-revealed <p>Mayor Jim Gray and Gov. Steve Beshear unveiled the new $310 million dollar design for the Rupp Arena Monday. Mon, 10 Feb 2014 21:46:32 +0000 Josh James 44420 at http://wuky.org New Rupp Arena Designs Revealed Plans to Renovate Rupp Arena Unveiled http://wuky.org/post/plans-renovate-rupp-arena-unveiled <p></p><p>Los Angeles architect Robert Mankin led a public meeting at Lexington's&nbsp; Hyatt Regency Wednesday to discuss upgrades to Rupp Arena.&nbsp; Thu, 09 Jan 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 42952 at http://wuky.org Plans to Renovate Rupp Arena Unveiled Convention-Goers Weigh In On Lexington Conventon Center Redesign http://wuky.org/post/convention-goers-weigh-lexington-conventon-center-redesign <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - A focus group made up of key convention organizers and attendees has been examining preliminary plans for the proposed redesign of the Lexington Convention Center. Thu, 20 Jun 2013 20:02:55 +0000 Josh James 33380 at http://wuky.org Convention-Goers Weigh In On Lexington Conventon Center Redesign Stumbo Will Work To Replace Coal Severance Funds http://wuky.org/post/stumbo-will-work-replace-coal-severance-funds <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LEXINGTON, Ky.-- House speaker Greg Stumbo says he intends to see that $2.5 million in coal severance tax funds being used to help pay for renovations at Rupp Arena is replaced.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">Stumbo told the Lexington Herald-Leader on Thursday that the funding could be replaced when bonds are issued for renovating the facility, "making it more of a loan than a grant."</span></p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 14:21:07 +0000 Associated Press 33063 at http://wuky.org Stumbo Will Work To Replace Coal Severance Funds