education http://wuky.org en Study: Lowest And Highest Performing Eastern Kentucky Schools Share Much In Common http://wuky.org/post/study-lowest-and-highest-performing-eastern-kentucky-schools-share-much-common <p>A study comparing the highest and lowest performing public schools in Eastern Kentucky has yielded some surprising results. Mon, 12 May 2014 22:03:50 +0000 Josh James 48859 at http://wuky.org Study: Lowest And Highest Performing Eastern Kentucky Schools Share Much In Common Five Percent Tuition Hike Recommended For UK This Fall http://wuky.org/post/five-percent-tuition-hike-recommended-uk-fall <p>This fall, University of Kentucky students are likely to see another five percent tuition hike. Tue, 06 May 2014 19:07:59 +0000 Josh James 48566 at http://wuky.org Five Percent Tuition Hike Recommended For UK This Fall Lawmakers Back Teacher Raises, Differ On Implementation And Funding http://wuky.org/post/lawmakers-back-teacher-raises-differ-implementation-and-funding <p>State House and Senate leaders are hammering out the details of a proposed pay raise for teachers. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 17:21:02 +0000 Josh James 46576 at http://wuky.org Lawmakers Back Teacher Raises, Differ On Implementation And Funding $20B Spending Plan Advances To Full House http://wuky.org/post/20b-spending-plan-advances-full-house <p>Despite a number of Republican abstentions, a Kentucky House committee has given its approval to a $20.3 billion, two-year budget. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 19:21:30 +0000 Josh James 45746 at http://wuky.org $20B Spending Plan Advances To Full House Debt Level In Gov. Beshear's Budget Likely To Become Sticking Point http://wuky.org/post/debt-level-gov-beshears-budget-likely-become-sticking-point <p>The State House Appropriations and Revenue Committee heard an overview of the governor’s proposed budget Tuesday. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 21:11:23 +0000 Josh James 43798 at http://wuky.org Debt Level In Gov. Beshear's Budget Likely To Become Sticking Point Gov. Beshear Stresses Education, Competitiveness In Budget Address http://wuky.org/post/gov-beshear-stresses-education-competitiveness-budget-address <p><kentucky< font=""> Gov. Steve Beshear laid out his budget priorities for the next two years in his Tuesday night address. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 01:16:50 +0000 Associated Press & Josh James 43488 at http://wuky.org Gov. Beshear Stresses Education, Competitiveness In Budget Address Repubican Senate Leader Responds To Beshear's Health Initiatives http://wuky.org/post/repubican-senate-leader-responds-beshears-health-initiatives <p>Gov. Steve Beshear stressed job creation and education in Tuesday's speech, but he was arguably at his most passionate on health issues. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 02:58:00 +0000 Josh James 42901 at http://wuky.org Repubican Senate Leader Responds To Beshear's Health Initiatives In-Depth: 2014 Legislative Session Preview http://wuky.org/post/depth-2014-legislative-session-preview <p>The Kentucky General Assembly kicks off its 2014 session Tuesday. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:07:09 +0000 Josh James 42834 at http://wuky.org In-Depth: 2014 Legislative Session Preview Beshear Visits The Big Apple For Education Summit http://wuky.org/post/beshear-visits-big-apple-education-summit <p>Governor Steve Beshear is in New York City as part of NBC&#39;s National Education Summit. Mon, 07 Oct 2013 18:50:30 +0000 Josh James 38664 at http://wuky.org Beshear Visits The Big Apple For Education Summit Non-Profit Foundation Created to Boost Funding for Kentucky Education http://wuky.org/post/non-profit-foundation-created-boost-funding-kentucky-education <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - With school districts across Kentucky dealing with tight budget limitations, leaders from the education and business communities say many bright ideas don’t get a chance to be implemented. A new foundation called The Fund for Transforming Education in Kentucky aims to change that. Tue, 16 Apr 2013 11:25:08 +0000 Brenna Angel 30123 at http://wuky.org Non-Profit Foundation Created to Boost Funding for Kentucky Education