Karyn Czar http://wuky.org en Coal Carbon Capture Project Now Under Way http://wuky.org/post/coal-carbon-capture-project-now-under-way <p>Construction of Kentucky’s first carbon capture pilot system has officially begun at a power plant near Harrodsburg. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 19:08:24 +0000 Karyn Czar 52320 at http://wuky.org Coal Carbon Capture Project Now Under Way $3.5M Grant To Fund Early Cancer Prevention http://wuky.org/post/35m-grant-fund-early-cancer-prevention <p>A $3.5M dollar grant from the CDC to the UK Rural Cancer Prevention center will help promote early detection of colorectal cancer in Appalachia. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:56:42 +0000 Karyn Czar 51807 at http://wuky.org $3.5M Grant To Fund Early Cancer Prevention Retaining STEM Students A Challenge http://wuky.org/post/retaining-stem-students-challenge <p>It's no secret that the science, technology, engineering, and mathematical fields can be demanding. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 16:05:40 +0000 Karyn Czar 49932 at http://wuky.org Retaining STEM Students A Challenge YMCA Launches Swiming Pilot Program http://wuky.org/post/ymca-launches-swiming-pilot-program <p>The YMCA of Central Kentucky is launching a pilot program this summer designed to teach young swimmers how to stay safe in and around the water. Mon, 02 Jun 2014 18:45:28 +0000 Karyn Czar 49892 at http://wuky.org YMCA Launches Swiming Pilot Program $428.4 Million Budget Passed By Fayette County School Board http://wuky.org/post/4284-million-budget-passed-fayette-county-school-board <p>By a vote of four to one, the Fayette County School Board approved a tentative budget for the upcoming fiscal year. Thu, 29 May 2014 12:11:37 +0000 Karyn Czar 49702 at http://wuky.org $428.4 Million Budget Passed By Fayette County School Board Crushed Corvettes Are A Hot Attraction http://wuky.org/post/crushed-corvettes-are-hot-attraction <p></p><p>The National Corvette Museum in Bowling Green has learned how to turn lemons into lemonade.</p><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 17:12:41 +0000 Karyn Czar 48836 at http://wuky.org Crushed Corvettes Are A Hot Attraction St. Joseph's East To Expand Breast Care Equipment, Services http://wuky.org/post/st-josephs-east-expand-breast-care-equipment-services <p></p><p>A million dollar renovation and expansion at a Lexington Hospital could mean the difference between life and death for countless patients. Wed, 07 May 2014 18:26:32 +0000 Karyn Czar 48614 at http://wuky.org St. Joseph's East To Expand Breast Care Equipment, Services It's Time To Toss Unwanted Meds http://wuky.org/post/its-time-toss-unwanted-meds <p>Lexington Police, UK and Drug Free Lex are just a few of the sponsors that are bringing Med Toss back for local residents this weekend.&nbsp;</p><p> Fri, 25 Apr 2014 16:41:01 +0000 Karyn Czar 48025 at http://wuky.org It's Time To Toss Unwanted Meds Money Will Be Set Aside For Homeless And Affordable Housing Funds http://wuky.org/post/money-will-be-set-aside-homeless-and-affordable-housing-funds <p></p><p>A council committee has agreed to earmark $3.5 million dollars in the upcoming budget to go toward affordable housing and homeless initiatives.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 19 Mar 2014 16:54:11 +0000 Karyn Czar 46155 at http://wuky.org Money Will Be Set Aside For Homeless And Affordable Housing Funds School Board Meets To Discuss Budget Shortfall Remedies http://wuky.org/post/school-board-meets-discuss-budget-shortfall-remedies <p>Fayette County School Superintendent Tom Shelton met with school board members Tuesday to discuss the budget shortfall situation. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 21:16:13 +0000 Karyn Czar 46128 at http://wuky.org School Board Meets To Discuss Budget Shortfall Remedies