WUKY http://wuky.org en Flight MH17: U.S. Builds Its Case; Plane Wreckage Reportedly Cut Apart http://wuky.org/post/flight-mh17-us-builds-its-case-plane-wreckage-reportedly-cut-apart American analysts say they've verified several pieces of evidence that show pro-Russian separatist rebels shot down Malaysia Airlines Flight MH17, according to U.S. intelligence officials who briefed reporters Tuesday.<p>Here's a quick rundown of the officials' updates on what U.S. investigators have found, from notes taken by NPR's Pentagon reporter Tom Bowman:<p><ul><p><li>A U.S. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:57:00 +0000 Bill Chappell 52414 at http://wuky.org Flight MH17: U.S. Builds Its Case; Plane Wreckage Reportedly Cut Apart Maine City Council Votes To Keep Tar Sands Out Of Its Port http://wuky.org/post/maine-city-council-votes-keep-tar-sands-out-its-port South Portland, Maine, is known as the place where Liberty ships were built by tens of thousands of workers during World War II. Now, the city's waterfront is home to an oil terminal and the beginning of a 236-mile-long pipeline.<p>For more than 70 years, the Portland Montreal Pipeline Corp. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:51:00 +0000 Susan Sharon 52415 at http://wuky.org Maine City Council Votes To Keep Tar Sands Out Of Its Port First Watch: Benjamin Booker, 'Have You Seen My Son?' http://wuky.org/post/first-watch-benjamin-booker-have-you-seen-my-son <p style="box-sizing: border-box; margin-bottom: 1.3em; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-family: 'Gotham SSm', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; line-height: 1.5; vertical-align: baseline; float: none; position: static; min-height: 1px; width: auto; color: rgb(139, 144, 148); max-width: 938px; background-color: rgb(22, 25, 30);">&nbsp;</p><p>http://youtu.be/F6GQM1ViDT0</p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:49:17 +0000 Bob Boilen 52413 at http://wuky.org On Immigration, America's Concerns Are Fiery But Fleeting http://wuky.org/post/immigration-americas-concerns-are-fiery-fleeting Americans today are most likely to name immigration the nation's biggest problem, but polling history suggests the alarm may have a limited shelf life.<p>In a Gallup <a href="http://www.gallup.com/poll/173306/one-six-say-immigration-important-problem.aspx">survey</a> released last week, 17 percent volunteered immigration as America's most pressing issue, narrowly topping concerns that weigh more consistently on the nation's mindset, like jobs and political leadership.<p>Though a small plurality, it was a sharp increase from the 5 percent who named the issue in Gallup's June poll, conducted jus Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:36:00 +0000 editor 52412 at http://wuky.org On Immigration, America's Concerns Are Fiery But Fleeting First Listen: Jenny Lewis, 'The Voyager'... Plus an ATC Interview... http://wuky.org/post/first-listen-jenny-lewis-voyager-plus-atc-interview <h1 style="box-sizing: border-box; margin-top: 15px; margin-bottom: 11px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-family: Georgia, serif; font-size: 3.2rem; line-height: 1.125; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(34, 34, 34);"><a href="http://www.npr.org/player/v2/mediaPlayer.html?action=1&amp;t=1&amp;islist=false&amp;id=331347295&amp;m=332625576">First Listen: Jenny Lewis, 'The Voyager'</a></h1><p>"Nostalgia has no place for the woman traveling alone," the great travel writer Mary Morris once wrote. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:30:44 +0000 Ann Powers 52411 at http://wuky.org First Listen: Jenny Lewis, 'The Voyager'... Plus an ATC Interview... Panel Offers Preview Of 2015 Gubernatorial Race http://wuky.org/post/panel-offers-preview-2015-gubernatorial-race <p>It wasn’t quite a gubernatorial debate, but Kentuckians got a taste of the coming campaign Tuesday at a business summit panel in Louisville. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:25:06 +0000 Josh James 52410 at http://wuky.org Panel Offers Preview Of 2015 Gubernatorial Race Robert Plant "lullaby and … The Ceaseless Roar" http://wuky.org/post/robert-plant-lullaby-and-ceaseless-roar <p>On his Nonesuch debut,&nbsp;<em>lullaby and … The Ceaseless Roar,</em>&nbsp;singer/songwriter Robert Plant bookends an album of brilliantly realized original material with two versions of the haunting bluegrass tune “Little Maggie,” popularized in the mid-’40s by the Stanley Brothers. In the Stanley Brothers’ hands, the song is mournful yet stoic as the narrator vows to leave for some “far distant land” rather than see his beloved with another man. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:21:01 +0000 Michael Hill 52409 at http://wuky.org Robert Plant "lullaby and … The Ceaseless Roar" Book Review: 'Angels Make Their Hope Here' http://wuky.org/post/book-review-angels-make-their-hope-here Alan Cheuse reviews Angels Make Their Hope Here, by Breena Clarke. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:47:00 +0000 Alan Cheuse 52408 at http://wuky.org Crunkadelic Funk 071914 http://wuky.org/post/crunkadelic-funk-071914 <p></p><p></p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:39:35 +0000 DeBraun Thomas 52360 at http://wuky.org Crunkadelic Funk 071914 Glass Or No Glass? That Is The Grill Lid Question http://wuky.org/post/glass-or-no-glass-grill-lid-question We love cooking on our grills, especially in the summertime. Keeping the house cool and avoiding the dish pile up are two major draws – not to mention the flavor of food cooked over fire.<p>When we saw a glass-topped grill, shining like Cinderella's slipper in a YouTube <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0il1bFM0vc">video</a> posted by commercial glass maker SCHOTT, we were intrigued. But, we wondered, how the heck do you clean it?<p>First, let's back up. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 21:11:00 +0000 April Fulton 52400 at http://wuky.org Glass Or No Glass? That Is The Grill Lid Question