WUKY http://wuky.org en U.S. Boosts Baghdad Diplomatic Security With 350 More Soldiers http://wuky.org/post/us-boosts-baghdad-diplomatic-security-350-more-soldiers The U.S. is adding 350 more troops to help protect the American Embassy in Baghdad and its support facilities in the Iraqi capital.<p>That raises the number of U.S. forces in the country to more than 1,000, officials told The Associated Press on Tuesday.<p>The additional troops, which were requested by the State Department, will not serve in a combat role.<p>The additional joint forces will come from within the U.S. Wed, 03 Sep 2014 06:08:00 +0000 Chris Hopkins and Doreen McCallister 54380 at http://wuky.org U.S. Boosts Baghdad Diplomatic Security With 350 More Soldiers Russian Space Experiment On Gecko Sex Goes Awry http://wuky.org/post/russian-space-experiment-gecko-sex-goes-awry Space is a dangerous place. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 23:31:00 +0000 Geoff Brumfiel 54379 at http://wuky.org Russian Space Experiment On Gecko Sex Goes Awry The Troubling Implications Of The Celebrity Photo Leak http://wuky.org/post/troubling-implications-celebrity-photo-leak To learn more about the recent celebrity photo hack, Melissa Block speaks with Matthew Green of Johns Hopkins University. They discuss how the photos might have been obtained, as well as how you can protect your own material saved to the cloud. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 22:55:00 +0000 editor 54378 at http://wuky.org MRAPs And Bayonets: What We Know About The Pentagon's 1033 Program http://wuky.org/post/mraps-and-bayonets-what-we-know-about-pentagons-1033-program Amid widespread criticism of the deployment of military-grade weapons and vehicles by police officers in Ferguson, Mo., President Obama recently ordered a review of federal efforts supplying equipment to local law enforcement agencies across the country.<p>So, we decided to take a look at what the president might find.<p>NPR obtained data from the Pentagon on every military item sent to local, state and federal agencies through the Pentagon's Law Enforcement Support Office — known as the 1033 program — from 2006 through April 23, 2014. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 22:10:00 +0000 editor 54375 at http://wuky.org MRAPs And Bayonets: What We Know About The Pentagon's 1033 Program Double Mastectomies Don't Increase Cancer Survival Rates http://wuky.org/post/double-mastectomies-dont-increase-cancer-survival-rates More women are choosing to have bilateral mastectomies when they are diagnosed with early-stage breast cancer, even though there's little evidence that removing both breasts improves their survival compared with more conservative treatments.<p>The biggest study yet on the question has found no survival benefit with bilateral mastectomy compared with breast-conserving surgery with radiation.<p>The <a href="http://jama.jamanetwork.com/article.aspx?articleid=1900512">study</a>, published Tuesday in <em>JAMA,</em> the journal of the American Medical Association, looked at the records of all women Tue, 02 Sep 2014 22:02:00 +0000 editor 54377 at http://wuky.org Double Mastectomies Don't Increase Cancer Survival Rates McConnell Mum On Campaign Chief's Resignation http://wuky.org/post/mcconnell-mum-campaign-chiefs-resignation <p>Republican Sen. Mitch McConnell is declining to answer questions about the resignation of his former campaign manager. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 22:01:01 +0000 Associated Press 54374 at http://wuky.org McConnell Mum On Campaign Chief's Resignation State Regulators Have Ride Sharing Services In Their Sights http://wuky.org/post/state-regulators-have-ride-sharing-services-their-sights <p>State regulators are preparing emergency regulations that will go into effect next month to govern ride sharing companies like Uber and Lyft. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:39:13 +0000 Associated Press 54373 at http://wuky.org State Regulators Have Ride Sharing Services In Their Sights Blue Grass Airport Embarking On Maintenance Upgrades http://wuky.org/post/blue-grass-airport-embarking-maintenance-upgrades <p>A new program aimed at enhancing operational safety at Blue Grass Airport is moving forward with federal funding. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:27:49 +0000 Josh James 54372 at http://wuky.org Blue Grass Airport Embarking On Maintenance Upgrades 60-Year Master Distiller Receives Rare Title http://wuky.org/post/60-year-master-distiller-receives-rare-title <p>A Master Distiller with 60 years of experience in the mix received a rare honor Tuesday in Lawrenceburg. Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:22:57 +0000 Josh James 54371 at http://wuky.org 60-Year Master Distiller Receives Rare Title A Suspected Ebola Patient On The Run In Liberia http://wuky.org/post/suspected-ebola-patient-run-liberia <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F-JZEaeOmfE</p> Tue, 02 Sep 2014 21:19:00 +0000 Jason Beaubien 54376 at http://wuky.org A Suspected Ebola Patient On The Run In Liberia