WUKY http://wuky.org en Local Music Monday: Cellist Seth Murphy http://wuky.org/post/local-music-monday-cellist-seth-murphy <p>In this week's Local Music Monday we meet a classically trained musician who his carving his own path. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 DeBraun Thomas 47648 at http://wuky.org Local Music Monday: Cellist Seth Murphy Dominated By 1 Point Of View, Late-Night TV Needs New Voices http://wuky.org/post/dominated-1-point-view-late-night-tv-needs-new-voices Tuesday night, Stephen Colbert stops by the CBS "Late Show" to greet the man he'll replace next year, David Letterman. It also spotlights a striking reality in late-night television --almost every host is a white man. Our TV critic has some suggestions on how to break that streak. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 editor 47751 at http://wuky.org Movie Review: 'Transcendence' http://wuky.org/post/movie-review-transcendence "Los Angeles Times" and "Morning Edition" film critic Kenneth Turan reviews "Transcendence" starring Johnny Depp as an artificial intelligence researcher hunted by anti-tech terrorists. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 editor 47750 at http://wuky.org Boxer Rubin 'Hurricane' Carter Dies At 76 http://wuky.org/post/boxer-rubin-hurricane-carter-dies-76 Rubin "Hurricane" Carter died Sunday at age 76. The fierce middleweight prizefighter became an international symbol after he was convicted twice for a 1966 triple murder. Bob Dylan championed the New Jersey native's cause in the 1975 song "Hurricane" and Denzel Washington portrayed him in a 1999 film. Carter's conviction was eventually overturned by a federal judge. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 editor 47749 at http://wuky.org In Asian-Majority District, House Race Divides Calif. Voters http://wuky.org/post/asian-majority-district-house-race-divides-calif-voters The U.S. mainland's only Asian-majority congressional district sits in California's Silicon Valley, where two Indian-American candidates are trying to oust Japanese-American Congressman Mike Honda. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 09:03:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 47748 at http://wuky.org In Asian-Majority District, House Race Divides Calif. Voters Who Should Pay To Keep The Internet's Locks Secure? http://wuky.org/post/who-should-pay-keep-internets-locks-secure The encryption code unlocked by the Heartbleed bug last week provided vital security for some of the most widely used websites on the Internet. Fortune 1000 companies rely on the open source code for their core business. But it turns out no one is paying for it.<p>The software that got infected — and later fixed — is <a href="https://www.openssl.org/">OpenSSL</a>. It's supposed to be the really safe, secure road on the Internet superhighway, where messages get encrypted and sent between users and servers. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 07:44:00 +0000 Aarti Shahani 47745 at http://wuky.org Who Should Pay To Keep The Internet's Locks Secure? How Do Companies Boost 401(k) Enrollment? Make It Automatic http://wuky.org/post/how-do-companies-boost-401k-enrollment-make-it-automatic More Americans are saving for retirement through their employers' 401(k) programs. That's because in recent years they've been given a strong nudge — more companies are automatically enrolling workers in retirement savings programs.<p>Some firms are also automatically increasing the amount employees contribute. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 07:42:00 +0000 Chris Arnold 47746 at http://wuky.org How Do Companies Boost 401(k) Enrollment? Make It Automatic For The Children's Sake, Put Down That Smartphone http://wuky.org/post/childrens-sake-put-down-smartphone It's not just kids who are overdoing screen time. Parents are often just as guilty of spending too much time checking smartphones and e-mail — and the consequences for their children can be troubling.<p>Dr. Jenny Radesky is a pediatrician specializing in child development. When she worked at a clinic in a high tech savvy Seattle neighborhood Radesky started noticing how often parents ignored their kids in favor of a mobile device. She remembers a mother placing her phone in the stroller between herself and the baby. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 07:41:00 +0000 Patti Neighmond 47747 at http://wuky.org For The Children's Sake, Put Down That Smartphone Scribes Are Back, Helping Doctors Tackle Electronic Medical Records http://wuky.org/post/scribes-are-back-helping-doctors-tackle-electronic-medical-records Like many other doctors across the country, <a href="http://bayloruptown.com/devesh-ramnath-md">Dr. Devesh Ramnath</a>, a Dallas orthopedic surgeon, recently made the switch from paper to electronic medical records. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Lauren Silverman 47743 at http://wuky.org Scribes Are Back, Helping Doctors Tackle Electronic Medical Records LA County's New Watchdog May Not Have Much Bite http://wuky.org/post/la-countys-new-watchdog-may-not-have-much-bite The Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department is one of the nation's most troubled law enforcement agencies.<p>Eighteen current and former deputies <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=249920055">are facing felony charges</a> as part of a federal probe into allegations of widespread prisoner abuse in county jails. Mon, 21 Apr 2014 07:39:00 +0000 Kirk Siegler 47744 at http://wuky.org LA County's New Watchdog May Not Have Much Bite