Severe Storms Prompt Early Dismissals At FCPS

Mar 2, 2012

The threat of severe weather has prompted Fayette County Public Schools to issue the following directive:

In light of the pending storm, all Fayette County Public Schools will be dismissing two hours early. In addition, the afternoon session of Early Start has been canceled.  Students in the morning Early Start session, which normally dismisses at 10:30 a.m., can either be picked up at school by their families or will be brought home on the bus along with the other students from their elementary schools in accordance with the early dismissal schedule. All evening and afterschool activities are canceled.

The following elementary schools will dismiss at 12:35 p.m.: (normally 2:35 p.m.)

Arlington, Ashland, Athens-Chilesburg, Booker T. Washington Academy, Breckinridge, Clays Mill, Deep Springs, Dixie, Garden Springs, Glendover, James Lane Allen, Julius Marks, Lansdowne, Liberty, Maxwell, Meadowthorpe, Millcreek, Picadome, Rosa Parks, Russell Cave, Sandersville, Southern, Squires, Stonewall, Tates Creek, Veterans Park, Wellington, William Wells Brown, and Yates.

The following schools will dismiss at 1:15p.m.: (normally 3:15 p.m.)

Cardinal Valley, Cassidy, Harrison, Mary Todd, and Northern elementaries and all high schools.

The following middle schools will dismiss at 1:45 p.m.: (normally 3:45 p.m.)

School for the Creative and Performing Arts at Bluegrass and Lexington Traditional Magnet School.

The following middle schools will dismiss at 1:55 p.m.: (normally 3:55 p.m.)

Beaumont, Bryan Station Middle, Crawford, Edythe J. Hayes, Jessie Clark, Leestown, Morton, Southern Middle, Tates Creek Middle and Winburn

Opportunity Middle College and Martin Luther King Jr. Academy will dismiss at 1 p.m. (normally 4 p.m.)

The Learning Center at Linlee will dismiss at 2:10 p.m. (normally 4:10 p.m.)