New Council Members To Be Sworn In Sunday

Jan 2, 2013

LEXINGTON, Ky. - Nearly a third of Lexington’s Urban County Council will be made up of new faces next week. The newly elected members will be sworn in Sunday.

The four new members being sworn in are District 2’s Shevawn Akers, District 7’s Jennifer Scutchfield, District 9’s Jennifer Mossotti, and District 10’s Harry Clark. Vice Mayor Linda Gorton says they will have a great deal to catch up on during the first few months, but it’s an energizing time.

"I have been around now for a lot of new council members and it's a very exciting time. It's fun to see what their interests are and where they want to serve in terms of committee work," Gorton says.

Gorton says she looks forward to hearing the new perspectives the members will bring to the council. The swearing in ceremony is at 2 PM this Sunday in the Kentucky Theatre.