More Kentucky Counties Designated for Individual Assistance From FEMA

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- – Nearly five million dollars in FEMA disaster assistance funding has been distributed to Kentucky storm victims in the wake of the May 1st flooding.

Spokesman John Treanor says most of that money has been designated for temporary housing and home repairs.

"Often it's around ten days, but I think with this disaster it's been quicker than that. But once they have registered, an inspector will come out and assess the damage. Then shortly after that a decision will be made as to what a person qualifies for and a check sent out."

Treanor says there are now 42 Kentucky counties where residents can register for possible individual assistance: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Carter, Casey, Elliot, Fleming, Franklin, Garrard, Green, Greenup Hart, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Leslie, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Nicholas, Nelson, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Simpson, Warren, Washington, and Woodford.

The registration number is 1-800-621-FEMA.

No decision has been made yet as to how much federal funding will be disbursed for repairs to public buildings and infrastructure.