Mixed Bag of Results For KY Legislature

Frankfort, KY – House Speaker Pro Tem Larry Clark eked out a victory last night over Republican Brian Simpson to win re-election.

Speaker Greg Stumbo, Majority Caucus Chair Bob Damron and Majority Whip John Will Stacy were also victorious.

Democrats who lost last night were Reps. Charlie Hoffman, Kent Stevens, Tim Firkins, Dottie Sims and Don Pasley.

Democrats also lost seats being vacated by Reps. Ron Weston and Eddie Ballard, but held onto the seat being vacated by Rep. Harry Moberly. Republicans retained the seat being vacated by Rep. Scott Brinkman.

Among Republican winners last night were Reps. Ron Crimm, Stan Lee, Minority Whip David Floyd, Lonnie Napier, Steven Rudy, Sal Santoro, Keith Hall, C-B Embry, Tim Moore, Jill York and Kevin Bratcher.

In the other chamber, Democratic Sens. Mike Reynolds and David Boswell lost to Republicans last night.

Republicans also picked up the seat being vacated by Senate Minority Leader Ed Worley and held onto the seat being vacated by Sen. Gary Tapp.

Republican Elizabeth Tori was defeated by Democrat Dennis Parrett.

In far western Kentucky, Sen. Bob Leeper - budget chairman and the chamber's only independent - won re-election over Democrat Rex Smith and Republican William East.

Senate President Pro Tem Katie Stine won re-election, as did Minority Whip Jerry Rhoads.

Other winners last night were Democrats Robin Webb and R-J Palmer, and Republicans Alice Forgy Kerr, Ernie Harris, Brandon Smith, Julie Denton and Dan Seum.