Counties Wait For FEMA Disaster Money

LEXINGTON, Ky. -- – In the days following the May 1-2 storms across Kentucky, eight counties were designated for individual assistance from FEMA. That number rose to 17, and as of Thursday afternoon, was up to 42.

FEMA spokesman John Treanor says more counties could still be added to the list.

"We have preliminary damage assessments that are done, and they can't all be done at one time. As the preliminary damage assessments are made, the counties are determined to be either qualified for assistance individual and public, or individual, or public."

Residents of the designated counties (see below) must call 1-800-621-FEMA or go online to to register for possible federal aid. More than seven million dollars has been disbursed so far to Kentucky storm victims.

Meanwhile dozens of Kentucky counties are waiting to hear about the amount of public assistance they'll receive to pay for damage repairs. Under a cost-sharing program, Treanor says 75 percent of costs are typically covered.

"That money is distributed considerably later than the individual assistance and the SBA loans because our people have to meet with the individual counties and the departments within the counties, and go over what the damage is, and come up with an assessment. And that takes some time."

FEMA currently has 55 counties designated for public assistance, but Treanor says that number could rise.

Kentucky Counties Designated for Individual Assistance

Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Carter, Casey, Elliot, Fleming, Franklin, Garrard, Green, Greenup Hart, Henry, Jackson, Jessamine, Leslie, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Menifee, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Nicholas, Nelson, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Simpson, Warren, Washington, and Woodford.

Kentucky Counties Designated for Public Assistance

Adair, Allen, Anderson, Barren, Bath, Boyd, Boyle, Breckenridge, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Garrard, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hart, Henderson, Hancock, Hopkins, Jackson, Jessamine, Knott, Larue, Leslie, Lewis, Lincoln, Logan, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Mason, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Ohio, Owen, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Simpson, Taylor, Warren, Washington, Wayne, and Woodford.