News http://wuky.org en Judge Rejects Kentucky Inmate's New Trial Bid http://wuky.org/post/judge-rejects-kentucky-inmates-new-trial-bid <p>A <font color="red">Kentucky</font> death row inmate has lost his bid for a new trial and to overturn his death sentences in the slayings of three people in central <font color="red">Kentucky</font>. Mon, 01 Sep 2014 22:10:39 +0000 Associated Press 54331 at http://wuky.org Judge Rejects Kentucky Inmate's New Trial Bid Berea To Hold Public Meeting On Fairness Ordinance http://wuky.org/post/berea-hold-public-meeting-fairness-ordinance <p>Berea has scheduled two meetings in September to discuss a proposed city law that bans discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity. Mon, 01 Sep 2014 22:07:17 +0000 Associated Press 54330 at http://wuky.org Berea To Hold Public Meeting On Fairness Ordinance Kentucky Blows Out UT Martin 59-14 http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-blows-out-ut-martin-59-14 <p>Braylon Heard's first-half touchdown runs of 73 and 43 yards spurred UK to a season-opening, 59-14 rout of Tennessee-Martin on Saturday. Sat, 30 Aug 2014 20:04:38 +0000 Associated Press 54260 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Blows Out UT Martin 59-14 McConnell Campaign Mgr. Resigns Amid 2012 Scandal http://wuky.org/post/mcconnell-campaign-mgr-resigns-amid-2012-scandal <p>Republican Sen. Mitch McConnell's campaign manager is resigning as a result of a scandal involving a presidential campaign he worked for in 2012. Sat, 30 Aug 2014 00:11:08 +0000 Associated Press 54239 at http://wuky.org McConnell Campaign Mgr. Resigns Amid 2012 Scandal Libertarian Senate Candidate's Petition Signatures Under Scrutiny http://wuky.org/post/libertarian-senate-candidates-petition-signatures-under-scrutiny <p>The Republican Party of Kentucky is raising questions about signatures submitted by Libertarian U.S. Senate candidate David Patterson. Fri, 29 Aug 2014 20:38:44 +0000 Josh James 54231 at http://wuky.org Libertarian Senate Candidate's Petition Signatures Under Scrutiny Families Of Injured Firefighters Thank Community For Support http://wuky.org/post/families-injured-firefighters-thank-community-support <p>An outpouring of community support for two firefighters injured during an ALS ice bucket challenge accident has the victims’ families speaking out. Fri, 29 Aug 2014 17:13:13 +0000 Josh James 54215 at http://wuky.org Families Of Injured Firefighters Thank Community For Support Wal-Mart Consulting Firm Withdraws Superstore Plans In Versailles http://wuky.org/post/wal-mart-consulting-firm-withdraws-superstore-plans-versailles <p>Plans for a Wal-Mart superstore in Versailles appeared to be shelved. Fri, 29 Aug 2014 16:47:51 +0000 Josh James 54214 at http://wuky.org Wal-Mart Consulting Firm Withdraws Superstore Plans In Versailles Student Booths Put Diversity On Display http://wuky.org/post/student-booths-put-diversity-display <p>As another class of UK freshmen start making their new homes on campus, more and more student groups are there to get them involved. Thu, 28 Aug 2014 21:43:07 +0000 Josh James 54191 at http://wuky.org Student Booths Put Diversity On Display Former People's Bank Building Could Soon See The Wrecking Ball http://wuky.org/post/former-peoples-bank-building-could-soon-see-wrecking-ball <p>A unique piece of '60s architecture in Lexington could soon be slated for demolition. Thu, 28 Aug 2014 21:27:45 +0000 Josh James 54182 at http://wuky.org Former People's Bank Building Could Soon See The Wrecking Ball Transylvania Requesting $14.5M In Tax-Free City Bonds http://wuky.org/post/transylvania-requesting-145m-tax-free-city-bonds <p>The Urban County Council is hearing the first reading Thursday of a proposal to issue $14.5M in bonds to fiannce Transylvania University’s new dorms. Thu, 28 Aug 2014 21:23:56 +0000 Josh James 54181 at http://wuky.org Transylvania Requesting $14.5M In Tax-Free City Bonds