James Comer http://wuky.org en Conway Offers Help For Pilot Hemp Project http://wuky.org/post/conway-offers-help-pilot-hemp-project <p>Kentucky's attorney general is offering to assist hemp supporters as the state prepares for the start of a hemp-growing pilot program this year. Fri, 14 Feb 2014 20:01:10 +0000 Associated Press 44632 at http://wuky.org Conway Offers Help For Pilot Hemp Project Sale Of Fuel Lab Equipment Benefits State http://wuky.org/post/sale-fuel-lab-equipment-benefits-state <p class="ap-story-p">Kentucky's Agriculture Department has contributed $1.65 million to the state treasury from auctioning off equipment at its now-defunct fuel lab. Sun, 17 Nov 2013 02:30:29 +0000 Associated Press 40668 at http://wuky.org Sale Of Fuel Lab Equipment Benefits State Kentucky's Homegrown By Heroes Program Going National http://wuky.org/post/kentuckys-homegrown-heroes-program-going-national <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">A Kentucky-based promotional campaign featuring a special brand for farm goods produced by military veterans is spreading nationwide. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 19:03:07 +0000 Associated Press 40362 at http://wuky.org Kentucky's Homegrown By Heroes Program Going National Conway: Growing Hemp Would Violate Federal Law http://wuky.org/post/conway-growing-hemp-would-violate-federal-law <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. - Attorney General Jack Conway is advising Kentucky leaders that industrial hemp farming remains illegal in Kentucky.</span> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 20:07:03 +0000 Associated Press & Josh James 38104 at http://wuky.org Conway: Growing Hemp Would Violate Federal Law Constitutional Officers Stick To Familiar Themes In Lexington Roundtable http://wuky.org/post/constitutional-officers-stick-familiar-themes-lexington-roundtable <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Nearly all of Kentucky constitutional officers gathered in Lexington Tuesday for a rare roundtable discussion. Tue, 24 Sep 2013 21:10:08 +0000 Josh James 38048 at http://wuky.org Constitutional Officers Stick To Familiar Themes In Lexington Roundtable Ag. Commissioner James Comer Keeping Options Open On Gubernatorial Run http://wuky.org/post/ag-commissioner-james-comer-keeping-options-open-gubernatorial-run <p>BOWLING GREEN, Ky. — Kentucky Agriculture Commissioner James Comer isn't ruling out a run for governor in 2015, but says he's not focused on the race yet. Mon, 24 Jun 2013 18:24:54 +0000 Associated Press 33531 at http://wuky.org Ag. Commissioner James Comer Keeping Options Open On Gubernatorial Run State to Shutter Costly Fuel Testing Lab http://wuky.org/post/state-shutter-costly-fuel-testing-lab <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - Describing it as a waste of taxpayer dollars, Agriculture Commissioner James Comer said he will shutter a $3 million gasoline quality testing lab that was opened under his predecessor Richie Farmer.<br>&nbsp;<br>&nbsp;Comer said Wednesday that the lab "hemorrhaged'' tax dollars while failing to handle the 500 random tests of gas station fuel Kentucky conducts each year. The closure will eventually save taxpayers about $600,000 a year, Comer said. The state is already contracting with a private company in Texas to conduct the<br>tests.</p> Thu, 04 Apr 2013 10:39:24 +0000 Associated Press 29605 at http://wuky.org State to Shutter Costly Fuel Testing Lab Amended Hemp Bill Passes Kentucky Legislature http://wuky.org/post/amended-hemp-bill-passes-kentucky-legislature <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - State lawmakers have approved a bill to allow a regulatory framework to be set up for industrial hemp in Kentucky, if the crop is legalized at the federal level.</p><p>Senate Bill 50 will give control of licensing of future hemp farmers to the state’s Industrial Hemp Commission, while allowing Kentucky State Police to do background checks on the farmers.</p><p>The Department of Agriculture will oversee many administrative roles involved in industrial hemp.</p> Wed, 27 Mar 2013 13:06:18 +0000 Kenny Colston, Kentucky Public Radio 29258 at http://wuky.org Amended Hemp Bill Passes Kentucky Legislature Sen. McConnell Endorses Hemp http://wuky.org/post/sen-mcconnell-endorses-hemp <p>WASHINGTON, D.C. - Kentucky’s most influential Republican, Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, is throwing his weight behind the movement to legalize hemp production in the state. Thu, 31 Jan 2013 20:09:53 +0000 Josh James 26682 at http://wuky.org Sen. McConnell Endorses Hemp KY Agriculture Department To Match Vets With Jobs http://wuky.org/post/ky-agriculture-department-match-vets-jobs <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - The Kentucky Department of Agriculture is launching two new programs to connect military veterans and farmers looking for workers. Tue, 22 Jan 2013 18:53:41 +0000 Josh James 26251 at http://wuky.org KY Agriculture Department To Match Vets With Jobs