Instant Racing http://wuky.org en Keeneland, Red Mile Next In Line For Instant Racing http://wuky.org/post/keeneland-red-mile-next-line-instant-racing <p>Keeneland and the Red Mile successfully made the case for instant racing before the state Horse Racing Commission Wednesday. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 20:41:22 +0000 Josh James 46882 at http://wuky.org Keeneland, Red Mile Next In Line For Instant Racing Court Leaves Instant Racing Question Unsettled http://wuky.org/post/court-leaves-instant-racing-question-unsettled <p>The <font color="red">Kentucky</font> Supreme Court has upheld the state's authority to regulate betting on older, recorded horse races. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 16:17:18 +0000 Associated Press 44869 at http://wuky.org Court Leaves Instant Racing Question Unsettled High Court Hears Arguments Over Instant Racing http://wuky.org/post/high-court-hears-arguments-over-instant-racing <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 15px;">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- When a horse race is recorded and then bet on later via a slot machine-like device is it still a horse race? Or a type of illegal gambling?</span></p><p></p> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 18:45:12 +0000 Associated Press 36377 at http://wuky.org High Court Hears Arguments Over Instant Racing Ky. Supreme Court To Hear Instant Racing Challenge http://wuky.org/post/ky-supreme-court-hear-instant-racing-challenge <p>LOUISVILLE, Ky. - The Kentucky Supreme Court will hear arguments in August over whether a slot machine-like device, known as Instant Racing, is legal in the state. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 19:53:26 +0000 Associated Press 33965 at http://wuky.org Ky. Supreme Court To Hear Instant Racing Challenge House Democrats Float Instant Racing As Solution To Pension Woes http://wuky.org/post/house-democrats-float-instant-racing-solution-pension-woes <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Horse racing tracks could generate up to $30 million a year in tax revenue for the state's financially troubled pension system if they installed slot-like machines and then taxed the proceeds, the House Speaker said Friday.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">In Kentucky, actual slot machines are banned, but two horse tracks have installed similar "Instant Racing" machines that allow people to wager on the outcomes of past horse races.</span></p> Fri, 15 Feb 2013 21:25:56 +0000 Associated Press 27406 at http://wuky.org House Democrats Float Instant Racing As Solution To Pension Woes Administration, Tracks Seek High Court Review http://wuky.org/post/administration-tracks-seek-high-court-review <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The issue of slot-like games at Kentucky&#39;s racetracks is headed back to the Kentucky Supreme Court.</span> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 01:56:04 +0000 Associated Press 17673 at http://wuky.org Administration, Tracks Seek High Court Review