Lexington Smoking Ban http://wuky.org en Smoking Citations Continue To Decline Despite Strip Club Holdouts http://wuky.org/post/smoking-citations-continue-decline-despite-strip-club-holdouts <p>Today, Lexington’s decade-old smoking ban is enforced by a handful of health department inspectors, but it took years for the regulation to take hold. Tue, 27 May 2014 05:00:00 +0000 Josh James 49440 at http://wuky.org Smoking Citations Continue To Decline Despite Strip Club Holdouts Smoking Ban Opponents Look Back http://wuky.org/post/smoking-ban-opponents-look-back <p>While advocates have much to cheer about 10 years on from the smoking ban, WUKY revisits some of the voices who spoke out against the law. Tue, 20 May 2014 22:19:42 +0000 Josh James 49278 at http://wuky.org Smoking Ban Opponents Look Back STORYCORPS: Health Educators Take On Tobacco Culture In Bourbon County http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-health-educators-take-tobacco-culture-bourbon-county <p>This week we hear from two health educators who faced long odds in enacting smoke-free policies in Bourbon County. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center for Smoke Free Policy 47890 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Health Educators Take On Tobacco Culture In Bourbon County STORYCORPS: Mayors Take Unpopular Stand For Future Generations http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-mayors-take-unpopular-stand-future-generations <p>Former Lexington Mayor Teresa Isaac and Georgetown Mayor Everette Varney recall their sometimes unpopular stances on no-smoking ordinances. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy & StoryCorps 46151 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Mayors Take Unpopular Stand For Future Generations Statewide Anti-Smoking Legislation A Nonstarter In 2014 http://wuky.org/post/statewide-anti-smoking-legislation-nonstarter-2014 <p>Statewide anti-smoking legislation is dead in the state House and, according to Sen. Julie Denton, the Senate companion measure is “on life support.” Wed, 12 Mar 2014 19:49:28 +0000 Josh James 45815 at http://wuky.org Statewide Anti-Smoking Legislation A Nonstarter In 2014 STORYCORPS: Meet The "Little Girl" Who Helped Frankfort Go Smoke-Free http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-meet-little-girl-who-helped-frankfort-go-smoke-free <p>Frankfort residents Lisa and Elizabeth Wood recall what it took to pass a no-smoking ordinance in the Capital City. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 11:30:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 42096 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Meet The "Little Girl" Who Helped Frankfort Go Smoke-Free