2014-2015 Budget http://wuky.org en Beshear Plugs $91M Budget Shortfall http://wuky.org/post/beshear-plugs-91m-budget-shortfall <p>Democratic Gov. Steve Beshear has signed an order to plug a $91 million hole in <font color="red">Kentucky's</font> $9.5 billion state budget. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 21:54:50 +0000 Associated Press 52103 at http://wuky.org Beshear Plugs $91M Budget Shortfall Beshear Vetoes Deadline For Repayment Of Rupp Money http://wuky.org/post/beshear-vetoes-deadline-repayment-rupp-money <p>All bills passed during Kentucky’s 2014 legislative session are now on the books. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 20:55:30 +0000 Josh James 48061 at http://wuky.org Beshear Vetoes Deadline For Repayment Of Rupp Money Beshear Continues Push For Rupp Funding http://wuky.org/post/beshear-continues-push-rupp-funding <p>Gov. Steve Beshear is keeping up the pressure on lawmakers in Frankfort to fund the Rupp Arena redesign. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 16:24:12 +0000 Josh James 46920 at http://wuky.org Beshear Continues Push For Rupp Funding Budget Mandates Pay Raises For Teachers http://wuky.org/post/budget-mandates-pay-raises-teachers <p>Kentucky's roughly 100,000 teachers and administrative staff will get an automatic pay raise in each of the next two years.<br /> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 21:25:17 +0000 Associated Press 46823 at http://wuky.org Budget Mandates Pay Raises For Teachers Bill Negotiations Come Down To The Wire In Frankfort http://wuky.org/post/bill-negotiations-come-down-wire-frankfort <p>It’s a make or break day for legislation as the General Assembly concludes its final day of voting before briefly reconvening in April. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 19:39:02 +0000 Josh James 46739 at http://wuky.org Bill Negotiations Come Down To The Wire In Frankfort State Universities Caught In The Middle Of Budget Fight http://wuky.org/post/state-universities-caught-middle-budget-fight <p>The Kentucky House and Senate are at odds over which university priorities to fund in the budget. Tue, 25 Mar 2014 20:43:44 +0000 Josh James 46464 at http://wuky.org State Universities Caught In The Middle Of Budget Fight Ky. House Trades Barbs Over Affordable Care Act, Passes Budget http://wuky.org/post/ky-house-trades-barbs-over-affordable-care-act-passes-budget <p>Debate over the state House version of Gov. Steve Beshear’s budget veered frequently onto the topic of the Affordable Care Act Thursday evening. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 23:11:49 +0000 Josh James 45898 at http://wuky.org Ky. House Trades Barbs Over Affordable Care Act, Passes Budget $20B Spending Plan Advances To Full House http://wuky.org/post/20b-spending-plan-advances-full-house <p>Despite a number of Republican abstentions, a Kentucky House committee has given its approval to a $20.3 billion, two-year budget. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 19:21:30 +0000 Josh James 45746 at http://wuky.org $20B Spending Plan Advances To Full House Ky. House Poised To Deliver Budget This Week http://wuky.org/post/ky-house-poised-deliver-budget-week <p>Kentucky House members say not to expect many changes to the governor’s budget when the House version comes before the chamber on Wednesday. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 17:27:16 +0000 Josh James 45662 at http://wuky.org Ky. House Poised To Deliver Budget This Week State PVAs Seek Solution To Budget Shortfall http://wuky.org/post/state-pvas-seek-solution-budget-shortfall <p>Like many agencies, Kentucky’s Property Valuation Administrator department is finding itself in a budget crunch. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 18:28:04 +0000 Josh James 45110 at http://wuky.org State PVAs Seek Solution To Budget Shortfall