UK http://wuky.org en UK Lifts Tailgating Restrictions, Working on Long-Term Plan http://wuky.org/post/uk-lifts-tailgating-restrictions-working-long-term-plan <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Officials at the University of Kentucky say there needs to be a “culture change” to improve the safety of tailgating at football games. Fri, 05 Oct 2012 18:57:10 +0000 Brenna Angel 21668 at http://wuky.org UK Lifts Tailgating Restrictions, Working on Long-Term Plan Crews Work To Repair Collapsed Storm Sewer Pipe Around UK Campus http://wuky.org/post/crews-work-repair-collapsed-storm-sewer-pipe-around-uk-campus <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - A spokesman with Lexington’s Division of Environmental Quality says it could be awhile before a busy intersection around the UK Campus can be reopened to traffic.&nbsp; Mark York says crews are working at Rose and Euclid to repair a storm sewer pipe that broke over the weekend. Mon, 10 Sep 2012 14:23:27 +0000 Wuky Staff 20429 at http://wuky.org Crews Work To Repair Collapsed Storm Sewer Pipe Around UK Campus Provost Office Reorganization Expected to Help UK Students http://wuky.org/post/provost-office-reorganization-expected-help-uk-students <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - In an effort to improve undergraduate education and deal with budget cuts, the University of Kentucky is implementing what officials call a strategic realignment of the Provost’s office. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 18:13:52 +0000 Brenna Angel 20340 at http://wuky.org Provost Office Reorganization Expected to Help UK Students Barnhart Asking Fans to Support Wildcat Football Team http://wuky.org/post/barnhart-asking-fans-support-wildcat-football-team <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Despite opening the season with a loss to Louisville, UK Athletics Director Mitch Barnhart says the Wildcat football team is excited and ready to hit the field again. He’s hoping the fans will be excited, too. Fri, 07 Sep 2012 13:49:37 +0000 Brenna Angel 20319 at http://wuky.org Barnhart Asking Fans to Support Wildcat Football Team Kentucky Universities Monitor Athletes' Social Media http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-universities-monitor-athletes-social-media <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LOUISVILLE, Ky.&nbsp; -- Kentucky's two largest universities use software to monitor what student-athletes post in social-media accounts.</span> Tue, 21 Aug 2012 17:17:36 +0000 Associated Press 19441 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Universities Monitor Athletes' Social Media Distilleries to Continue Funding Alcohol Education Programs at UK, U of L http://wuky.org/post/distilleries-continue-funding-alcohol-education-programs-uk-u-l <p>LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Alcohol awareness programs at the University of Kentucky and the University of Louisville will continue to receive financial support &nbsp;from two Kentucky distilleries.&nbsp; Beam Inc. and Brown-Forman Corp. are giving a combined $600,000 to the schools to bolster efforts to combat underage and binge drinking across the Commonwealth. Tue, 07 Aug 2012 17:34:31 +0000 Alan Lytle 18651 at http://wuky.org Distilleries to Continue Funding Alcohol Education Programs at UK, U of L Ex-UK Administrator Will Be Rupp Project Manager http://wuky.org/post/ex-uk-administrator-will-be-rupp-project-manager <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - A former vice president at the University of Kentucky has been tapped as the new project manager for the Rupp Arena Arts and Entertainment District. Fri, 01 Jun 2012 19:38:56 +0000 Associated Press & Brenna Angel 15346 at http://wuky.org Ex-UK Administrator Will Be Rupp Project Manager UK Launches Scholarship for Domestic Violence Survivors http://wuky.org/post/uk-launches-scholarship-domestic-violence-survivors <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - For women suffering physical, mental, and sexual abuse at the hands of their partner, a lack of education can be a barrier to independence. The University of Kentucky hopes to change that by launching a new scholarship specifically for victims of domestic violence.</p><p>Carol Jordan, director of UK&rsquo;s Center for Research on Violence Against Women, believes the scholarship is the first of its kind in the country because it provides a full financial aid package.</p> Mon, 16 Apr 2012 18:01:22 +0000 Brenna Angel 13032 at http://wuky.org UK Launches Scholarship for Domestic Violence Survivors Central Ky. Businesses Devoted to Wildcats http://wuky.org/post/central-ky-businesses-devoted-wildcats <p>&nbsp;LEXINGTON, Ky. - The barber shop near the corner of Euclid and Woodland Avenues in Lexington is like most barber shops, offering men&rsquo;s haircuts, beard trimming, straight razor shaves. But the atmosphere owner Ryan Lykins has created is a lot like a sports bar.</p><p>Lykins and his wife Cassandra own Kentucky Wildcuts Barber Shop, a business they opened about three years ago. Thu, 15 Mar 2012 14:06:00 +0000 Brenna Angel 11424 at http://wuky.org Central Ky. Businesses Devoted to Wildcats