Kentucky Center for Smoke Free Policy http://wuky.org en STORYCORPS: Lexington's Historic No Smoking Ordinance http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-lexingtons-historic-no-smoking-ordinance <p>We end our series with Ellen Hahn and Carole Riker who were instrumental in the passage of Lexington's No Smoking Ordinance now more than 10 years ago. Sat, 03 May 2014 03:14:37 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 47974 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Lexington's Historic No Smoking Ordinance UK Holds Smoke-Free Conference http://wuky.org/post/uk-holds-smoke-free-conference <p></p><p>Over 150 professionals gathered at Lexington’s Doubletree Hotel Tuesday for the 2014 Smoke Free Conference.&nbsp; Ranging from mayors and politicians to advocates and health care professionals, their goal was the same, discuss ways to decrease tobacco use across the Commonwealth. &nbsp;&nbsp;One prominent attendee was former University of Kentucky President Lee Todd, who led the effort to make the campus smoke free.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 29 Apr 2014 18:39:38 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 48210 at http://wuky.org UK Holds Smoke-Free Conference STORYCORPS: Health Educators Take On Tobacco Culture In Bourbon County http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-health-educators-take-tobacco-culture-bourbon-county <p>This week we hear from two health educators who faced long odds in enacting smoke-free policies in Bourbon County. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center for Smoke Free Policy 47890 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Health Educators Take On Tobacco Culture In Bourbon County STORYCORPS: Early Skeptic Becomes Ardent Supporter http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-early-skeptic-becomes-ardent-supporter <p>It took some convincing, but former vice mayor Mike Scanlon became an important advocate of Lexington's no smoking ordinance. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 47546 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Early Skeptic Becomes Ardent Supporter STORYCORPS: Local Restaurant Owner Welcomed No-Smoking Ordinance http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-local-restaurant-owner-welcomed-no-smoking-ordinance <p>As we mark ten years of Lexington's No-Smoking ordinance a local restaurant owner believes he was the first to put in a no-smoking section. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center for Smoke Free Policy 47189 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Local Restaurant Owner Welcomed No-Smoking Ordinance STORYCORPS: Mayors Take Unpopular Stand For Future Generations http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-mayors-take-unpopular-stand-future-generations <p>Former Lexington Mayor Teresa Isaac and Georgetown Mayor Everette Varney recall their sometimes unpopular stances on no-smoking ordinances. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy & StoryCorps 46151 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Mayors Take Unpopular Stand For Future Generations STORYCORPS: Northern Kentucky Advocate Discovers The Power Of The Pen http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-northern-kentucky-advocate-discovers-power-pen <p>This week meet a Northern Kentuckian who launched a letter writing campaign for no-smoking ordinances across the state. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & StoryCorps & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 45793 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Northern Kentucky Advocate Discovers The Power Of The Pen STORYCORPS: Lexington Musicians Chime In On Smoking Ban http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-lexington-musicians-chime-smoking-ban <p>This week two musicians who've played Lexington's hot spots before, during, and after the no-smoking ordinance. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 45455 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Lexington Musicians Chime In On Smoking Ban STORYCORPS: Second Hand Smoke Key Issue In Smoking Bans http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-second-hand-smoke-key-issue-smoking-bans <p>The dangerous health effects of second-hand smoke played a key role in making Lexington a smoke-free community. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 45150 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Second Hand Smoke Key Issue In Smoking Bans STORYCORPS: Passing A Statewide Smoke-Free Law http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-passing-statewide-smoke-free-law <p>This week in StoryCorps, meet the Lexington legislator trying to round up votes for passage of a statewide smoke-free law. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 44819 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Passing A Statewide Smoke-Free Law