WUKY Storycorps http://wuky.org en STORYCORPS: Lexington's Historic No Smoking Ordinance http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-lexingtons-historic-no-smoking-ordinance <p>We end our series with Ellen Hahn and Carole Riker who were instrumental in the passage of Lexington's No Smoking Ordinance now more than 10 years ago. Sat, 03 May 2014 03:14:37 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 47974 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Lexington's Historic No Smoking Ordinance STORYCORPS: Early Skeptic Becomes Ardent Supporter http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-early-skeptic-becomes-ardent-supporter <p>It took some convincing, but former vice mayor Mike Scanlon became an important advocate of Lexington's no smoking ordinance. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 47546 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Early Skeptic Becomes Ardent Supporter STORYCORPS: Second Hand Smoke Key Issue In Smoking Bans http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-second-hand-smoke-key-issue-smoking-bans <p>The dangerous health effects of second-hand smoke played a key role in making Lexington a smoke-free community. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 45150 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Second Hand Smoke Key Issue In Smoking Bans STORYCORPS: Passing A Statewide Smoke-Free Law http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-passing-statewide-smoke-free-law <p>This week in StoryCorps, meet the Lexington legislator trying to round up votes for passage of a statewide smoke-free law. Thu, 20 Feb 2014 11:00:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 44819 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Passing A Statewide Smoke-Free Law STORYCORPS: Confronting Social/Cultural Barriers To Smoke-Free Ordinances http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-confronting-socialcultural-barriers-smoke-free-ordinances <p>Public Health Directors Jim Rousey and Scott Lockard were responsible for championing smoke-free policies in their respective communities. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 42917 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Confronting Social/Cultural Barriers To Smoke-Free Ordinances STORYCORPS: Resolving To Kick The Habit Once And For All http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-resolving-kick-habit-once-and-all <p>A popular New Year's resolution is to quit smoking. This week, one woman's journey to do just that is recalled in the StoryCorps booth. Thu, 02 Jan 2014 11:10:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 42506 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Resolving To Kick The Habit Once And For All WUKY To Feature Audio From Storycorps Smoke-Free Project http://wuky.org/post/wuky-feature-audio-storycorps-smoke-free-project <p>This week WUKY begins airing audio from an oral history project involving the 10 year anniversary of Lexington's No-Smoking Ordinance. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 19:09:21 +0000 Josh James 40777 at http://wuky.org WUKY To Feature Audio From Storycorps Smoke-Free Project