prescription drug abuse http://wuky.org en Prescription Drug Abuse Also Fueling Rise In Neonatal Disorder http://wuky.org/post/prescription-drug-abuse-also-fueling-rise-neonatal-disorder <p>Kentucky’s maternal and child health leaders are banding together to address the growing problem of neonatal abstinence syndrome. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 17:57:12 +0000 Josh James 50805 at http://wuky.org Prescription Drug Abuse Also Fueling Rise In Neonatal Disorder Appeals Court To Hear Pain Pill Clinic Case http://wuky.org/post/appeals-court-hear-pain-pill-clinic-case <p>Important developments in an effort to shut down the so-called pill pipeline between Kentucky and other southern states. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 10:57:50 +0000 Associated Press 49928 at http://wuky.org Appeals Court To Hear Pain Pill Clinic Case Pike County Physician Pleads Guilty To Drug Relabeling http://wuky.org/post/pike-county-physician-pleads-guilty-drug-relabeling <p>Following a years-long, multi-agency investigation, Pike County osteopathic physician Thad Manning has pleaded guilty to relabeling sample drugs. Fri, 18 Apr 2014 16:17:50 +0000 Josh James 47654 at http://wuky.org Pike County Physician Pleads Guilty To Drug Relabeling Zohydro Facing Growing Chorus Of Critics http://wuky.org/post/zohydro-facing-growing-chorus-critics <p>A powerful new painkiller that hit the shelves last week is drawing fire across the country, but criticism is particularly vocal in Kentucky. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 19:13:51 +0000 Josh James 46052 at http://wuky.org Zohydro Facing Growing Chorus Of Critics New Pill Container Designed To Battle Drug Abuse http://wuky.org/post/new-pill-container-designed-battle-drug-abuse <p class="ap-story-p">A Louisville company has created a secure pill dispenser with the aim of combating prescription drug abuse. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 16:25:29 +0000 Associated Press 42304 at http://wuky.org New Pill Container Designed To Battle Drug Abuse New Legislation Targets Heroin Abusers, Traffickers http://wuky.org/post/new-legislation-targets-heroin-abusers-traffickers <p>Attorney General Jack Conway announced bipartisan legislation Thursday aimed at curbing the rise of heroin in the state. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 18:03:20 +0000 Josh James 42152 at http://wuky.org New Legislation Targets Heroin Abusers, Traffickers Eastern Kentucky Pharmacist Sentenced To 10 Years For Prescription Scam http://wuky.org/post/eastern-kentucky-pharmacist-sentenced-10-years-prescription-scam <p>An Eastern Kentucky pharmacy owner and his wife will do time in Federal Prison and forfeit property and funds gained by filling illegal prescriptions. Wed, 18 Dec 2013 20:23:17 +0000 Karyn Czar 42106 at http://wuky.org Eastern Kentucky Pharmacist Sentenced To 10 Years For Prescription Scam Report: Kentucky Third In Prescription Drug Overdose Deaths http://wuky.org/post/report-kentucky-third-prescription-drug-overdose-deaths <p>A report released Monday places the Commonwealth third in the nation in prescription drug overdose deaths, just below New Mexico and West Virginia. Mon, 07 Oct 2013 16:05:51 +0000 Josh James 38650 at http://wuky.org Report: Kentucky Third In Prescription Drug Overdose Deaths Survey Finds Less Prescription Abuse Among Teens http://wuky.org/post/survey-finds-less-prescription-abuse-among-teens <p class="ap-story-p">A new study has found a dramatic drop in the number of teens abusing prescription drugs. Sat, 05 Oct 2013 22:49:32 +0000 Associated Press 38604 at http://wuky.org Survey Finds Less Prescription Abuse Among Teens Scholarships Open To Students Who Overcome Drugs http://wuky.org/post/scholarships-open-students-who-overcome-drugs <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Going to college has just gotten easier for high school seniors who have overcome prescription drug abuse.</span></p><p> Tue, 24 Sep 2013 00:38:14 +0000 Associated Press 38005 at http://wuky.org Scholarships Open To Students Who Overcome Drugs