UK Athletics http://wuky.org en Matthew Mitchell, Wife Jenna To Donate $1M To UK Athletics http://wuky.org/post/matthew-mitchell-wife-jenna-donate-1m-uk-athletics <p>UK women’s basketball head coach Matthew Mitchell and his wife, Jenna, have pledged $1 million over the next 10 years to the athletics department. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 16:20:32 +0000 WUKY Staff & UK Athletics 50110 at http://wuky.org Matthew Mitchell, Wife Jenna To Donate $1M To UK Athletics Honors Continue To Pour In For Wildcat A.J. Reed http://wuky.org/post/honors-continue-pour-wildcat-aj-reed <p>Kentucky junior lefty/first baseman A.J. Reed has been named the National Player of the Year by <em>Collegiate Baseball</em>. Thu, 29 May 2014 15:18:48 +0000 WUKY Staff & UK Athletics 49707 at http://wuky.org Honors Continue To Pour In For Wildcat A.J. Reed Athletic Spending Increasing Faster Than Academic Spending At UK http://wuky.org/post/athletic-spending-increasing-faster-academic-spending-uk <p>Spending on each athlete at the University of Kentucky increased 10 times faster than spending on the education of each student since 2005. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 22:30:31 +0000 Josh James 41484 at http://wuky.org Athletic Spending Increasing Faster Than Academic Spending At UK Barnhart Takes No Position On Farmer's Jersey Staying Up At Rupp http://wuky.org/post/barnhart-takes-no-position-farmers-jersey-staying-rupp <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Following a news briefing on football crowd control Friday WUKY asked UK Athletics Director Mitch Barnhart for his opinion on whether the school should continue to publicly honor former basketball Wildcat Richie Farmer.&nbsp; His jersey currently hangs in the rafters of Rupp Arena as part of the 1992 <em>Unforgettables </em>Team.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 18:16:35 +0000 WUKY Staff 37176 at http://wuky.org Barnhart Takes No Position On Farmer's Jersey Staying Up At Rupp UK Puts More Restrictions On What Fans Can Bring Into Commonwealth http://wuky.org/post/uk-puts-more-restrictions-what-fans-can-bring-commonwealth <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LEXINGTON, Ky. -- University of Kentucky officials have announced a new security policy that bans backpacks and large bags from Commonwealth Stadium.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">Fans are allowed one small bag no bigger than 13.5 by 10.7 inches that must fit within sizing bins at stadium gates.</span></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">The measure announced Thursday takes effect with Kentucky's Sept. 7 home opener against Miami (Ohio).</span></p> Thu, 22 Aug 2013 22:50:55 +0000 Associated Press 36457 at http://wuky.org UK Puts More Restrictions On What Fans Can Bring Into Commonwealth Smith, Chapman Top List Of UK Athletic HOF Inductees http://wuky.org/post/smith-chapman-top-list-uk-athletic-hof-inductees <div><p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 15px;">LEXINGTON, Ky. — The University of Kentucky Athletics Hall of Fame has announced the six people who will make up the 2013 class of inductees, including men's basketball's Rex Chapman and Tubby Smith.</span></p><p></p><p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 15px;">They will be joined by 1980s football player Oliver Barnett, 1980s women's basketball standout Leslie Nichols, All-American track star and former coach Press Whelan (WHAY'-lan) and five-time all-American tennis player Jesse Witten, who was at UK from 2002 to 2005.</span></p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 11:24:45 +0000 Associated Press 36285 at http://wuky.org Smith, Chapman Top List Of UK Athletic HOF Inductees