Urban County Council http://wuky.org en Council Reverses Itself On Location Of Second Salt Barn http://wuky.org/post/council-reverses-itself-location-second-salt-barn <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Urban County Council members have reversed their decision to place a salt storage facility off Winchester and New Circle Roads.&nbsp; More from Karyn Czar.</p><p></p><p></p><p>The temporary structure was proposed for the former site of the Continental Inn and last month, council approved a lease for that location.&nbsp; Yesterday, they decided against it.</p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 15:30:39 +0000 Karyn Czar 36844 at http://wuky.org Council Reverses Itself On Location Of Second Salt Barn New Senior Citizens Center To Be Built In Idle Hour Park http://wuky.org/post/new-senior-citizens-center-be-built-idle-hour-park <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. -- After debating nearly 20 sites around the city, the Urban County Council has decided that Lexington's new Senior Citizens Center will be built in Idle Hour Park, current home to a youth football league and adjacent to Southland Christian Church.</p><p></p><p>During the work session on Tuesday council members discussed three other locations, Liberty Park, Turfland Mall, and a site near the YMCA on West Loudon Avenue before ultimately giving approval to the Idle Hour plan.</p> Wed, 21 Aug 2013 14:39:55 +0000 wuky staff 36352 at http://wuky.org New Senior Citizens Center To Be Built In Idle Hour Park Council Clears The Way For Euclid Kroger Expansion http://wuky.org/post/council-clears-way-euclid-kroger-expansion <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Following a more than 6 ½ hour public meeting early Wednesday, the Urban County Council voted unanimously to grant a zone change requested by Kroger, clearing the way for a major expansion of its Euclid location. The decision comes over the objections of residents who fear the new store will overwhelm the neighborhood. Wed, 14 Aug 2013 17:32:59 +0000 Josh James 36037 at http://wuky.org Council Clears The Way For Euclid Kroger Expansion Rule Change Aimed at Speeding Up Lexington Council Meetings http://wuky.org/post/rule-change-aimed-speeding-lexington-council-meetings <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - The Lexington Urban County Council is weighing transparency and practicality as it considers a change in what items need to be publicly addressed at a full council meeting. Wed, 06 Mar 2013 14:22:35 +0000 Brenna Angel 28247 at http://wuky.org Rule Change Aimed at Speeding Up Lexington Council Meetings New Council Members To Be Sworn In Sunday http://wuky.org/post/new-council-members-be-sworn-sunday <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Nearly a third of Lexington’s Urban County Council will be made up of new faces next week. The newly elected members will be sworn in Sunday. Wed, 02 Jan 2013 17:40:22 +0000 Josh James 25459 at http://wuky.org New Council Members To Be Sworn In Sunday Urban County Council Candidates Debate Downtown Issues http://wuky.org/post/urban-county-council-candidates-debate-downtown-issues <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Candidates running for election in three Urban County Council districts that make up downtown Lexington sounded off Thursday on issues ranging from public safety, economic development, and local entertainment. Fri, 28 Sep 2012 12:29:57 +0000 Brenna Angel 21337 at http://wuky.org Urban County Council Candidates Debate Downtown Issues Several Months Late, Lexington Gets Clean Audit http://wuky.org/post/several-months-late-lexington-gets-clean-audit <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Financial statements for the Lexington Fayette Urban County Government are in good order, according a recently completed audit of last fiscal year. Finance Commissioner Jane Driskell says auditors with the accounting firm Dean, Dorton, Allen &amp; Ford issued an unqualified opinion to the city.</p><p>&ldquo;It&rsquo;s unqualified in that we fairly represented our financials and that there was no major issue that would lead them to not give us a clean opinion.&rdquo;</p> Tue, 28 Feb 2012 21:47:24 +0000 Brenna Angel 10575 at http://wuky.org Several Months Late, Lexington Gets Clean Audit