Same Sex Marriage http://wuky.org en Governor Defends Arguments In Same-Sex Marriage Case http://wuky.org/post/governor-defends-arguments-same-sex-marriage-case <p>Gov. Steve Beshear is defending his administration’s legal arguments in favor of the state’s same-sex marriage ban. Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:45:41 +0000 Josh James 51446 at http://wuky.org Governor Defends Arguments In Same-Sex Marriage Case Ky. Governor Asks For Stay In Same Sex Marriage Case http://wuky.org/post/ky-governor-asks-stay-same-sex-marriage-case <p><font color="red">The state's contracted legal team has wasted little time in appealing a ruling in the same-sex marriage case.</font> Sat, 15 Mar 2014 01:19:43 +0000 Associated Press 45944 at http://wuky.org Ky. Governor Asks For Stay In Same Sex Marriage Case Fairness Legislation Receives First Ever Hearing http://wuky.org/post/fairness-legislation-receives-first-ever-hearing <p>The Kentucky House Judiciary Committee made history Wednesday by hearing discussion of a statewide fairness law. Wed, 05 Mar 2014 20:56:36 +0000 Josh James 45467 at http://wuky.org Fairness Legislation Receives First Ever Hearing Judge Grants 21-Day Delay On Same-Sex Marriages http://wuky.org/post/judge-grants-21-day-delay-same-sex-marriages <p>A federal judge has given Kentucky until March 20 to implement his order granting legal recognition to same-sex couples married in other states. Fri, 28 Feb 2014 22:16:51 +0000 Associated Press 45290 at http://wuky.org Judge Grants 21-Day Delay On Same-Sex Marriages Ky. Lawmaker: Third Party Could Potentially Challenge Federal Marriage Ruling http://wuky.org/post/ky-lawmaker-third-party-could-potentially-challenge-federal-marriage-ruling <p>Opponents of same-sex marriage in Kentucky are exploring options for challenging the recent ruling striking down the state's marriage amendment. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 21:50:39 +0000 Josh James 45237 at http://wuky.org Ky. Lawmaker: Third Party Could Potentially Challenge Federal Marriage Ruling Fairness Rally Fills State Capitol Rotunda http://wuky.org/post/fairness-rally-fills-state-capitol-rotunda <p>LGBT advocates sent chants of “Fairness!” through the state Capitol Wednesday. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 20:51:52 +0000 Josh James 44836 at http://wuky.org Fairness Rally Fills State Capitol Rotunda Judge: Woman Must Testify Against Partner http://wuky.org/post/judge-woman-must-testify-against-partner <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- A judge has ruled the same-sex partner of a woman charged with murder must testify against her.</span></p><p class="ap-story-p"> Mon, 23 Sep 2013 22:48:10 +0000 Associated Press 38003 at http://wuky.org Judge: Woman Must Testify Against Partner Ky. AG Staying Out Of Same Sex Privilege Issue http://wuky.org/post/ky-ag-staying-out-same-sex-privilege-issue <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Kentucky's attorney general is staying out of a dispute over whether a law exempting spouses from testifying against each other applies to same-sex couples, as prosecutors seek to force a woman to take the stand in her female partner's coming murder trial.</span></p><p></p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 23:17:19 +0000 Associated Press 36168 at http://wuky.org Ky. AG Staying Out Of Same Sex Privilege Issue Ky. Couple Challenges Ban On Same-Sex Marriage http://wuky.org/post/ky-couple-challenges-ban-same-sex-marriage <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- A Louisville couple on Friday challenged Kentucky's ban on same-sex marriages, saying the state isn't putting them and other same-sex couples on equal footing with other married couples.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">Gregory Bourke and Michael Deleon are asking a federal judge in Louisville to require the state to recognize valid unions from other states and countries.</span></p> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 14:21:21 +0000 Associated Press 35089 at http://wuky.org Ky. Couple Challenges Ban On Same-Sex Marriage