StoryCorps http://wuky.org en STORYCORPS: Local Restaurant Owner Welcomed No-Smoking Ordinance http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-local-restaurant-owner-welcomed-no-smoking-ordinance <p>As we mark ten years of Lexington's No-Smoking ordinance a local restaurant owner believes he was the first to put in a no-smoking section. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center for Smoke Free Policy 47189 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Local Restaurant Owner Welcomed No-Smoking Ordinance STORYCORPS: Mayors Take Unpopular Stand For Future Generations http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-mayors-take-unpopular-stand-future-generations <p>Former Lexington Mayor Teresa Isaac and Georgetown Mayor Everette Varney recall their sometimes unpopular stances on no-smoking ordinances. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy & StoryCorps 46151 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Mayors Take Unpopular Stand For Future Generations STORYCORPS: Northern Kentucky Advocate Discovers The Power Of The Pen http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-northern-kentucky-advocate-discovers-power-pen <p>This week meet a Northern Kentuckian who launched a letter writing campaign for no-smoking ordinances across the state. Thu, 13 Mar 2014 10:00:00 +0000 Alan Lytle & StoryCorps & Kentucky Center For Smoke Free Policy 45793 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Northern Kentucky Advocate Discovers The Power Of The Pen STORYCORPS: Two Early Supporters Of Lexington's Historic No-Smoking Ordinance http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-two-early-supporters-lexingtons-historic-no-smoking-ordinance <p>This week we hear from cancer survivor Kathy Tabb, and Dr. David Stevens, two early supporters of Lexington's No-Smoking Ordinance. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 43513 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Two Early Supporters Of Lexington's Historic No-Smoking Ordinance STORYCORPS: Passing Lexington's No-Smoking Ordinance http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-passing-lexingtons-no-smoking-ordinance <p>Two former officials with the Fayette Co. Health Department talk about their involvement with Lexington's historic No-Smoking Ordinance. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 43229 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Passing Lexington's No-Smoking Ordinance STORYCORPS: Confronting Social/Cultural Barriers To Smoke-Free Ordinances http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-confronting-socialcultural-barriers-smoke-free-ordinances <p>Public Health Directors Jim Rousey and Scott Lockard were responsible for championing smoke-free policies in their respective communities. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 11:00:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 42917 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Confronting Social/Cultural Barriers To Smoke-Free Ordinances STORYCORPS: Meet The "Little Girl" Who Helped Frankfort Go Smoke-Free http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-meet-little-girl-who-helped-frankfort-go-smoke-free <p>Frankfort residents Lisa and Elizabeth Wood recall what it took to pass a no-smoking ordinance in the Capital City. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 11:30:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 42096 at http://wuky.org STORYCORPS: Meet The "Little Girl" Who Helped Frankfort Go Smoke-Free Smoke-Free Policies Spread To Kentucky Campuses http://wuky.org/post/smoke-free-policies-spread-kentucky-campuses <p>Former UK Pres. Lee Todd and Former Lex. Police Chief Anthany Beatty meet up in the StoryCorps booth to discuss taking UK tobacco-free. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 13:40:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 41412 at http://wuky.org Smoke-Free Policies Spread To Kentucky Campuses Outgoing Vice Mayor And Local Restaurant Owner Discuss 10 Year Old Smoking Ban http://wuky.org/post/outgoing-vice-mayor-and-local-restaurant-owner-discuss-10-year-old-smoking-ban <p>Vice Mayor Linda Gorton and Restaurant owner Rob Ramsey discuss how they view Lexington's No-Smoking Ordinance 10 years later. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 13:45:00 +0000 WUKY Staff 40814 at http://wuky.org Outgoing Vice Mayor And Local Restaurant Owner Discuss 10 Year Old Smoking Ban StoryCorps Spotlights Lexington's Smoking Ban http://wuky.org/post/storycorps-spotlights-lexingtons-smoking-ban <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - StoryCorps, a nonprofit that collects oral histories for air on public radio and for archive in the Library of Congress, wrapped up a three day visit to Lexington Tuesday. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 21:12:52 +0000 Josh James 33914 at http://wuky.org StoryCorps Spotlights Lexington's Smoking Ban