Appalachian Coal Mining http://wuky.org en Ky. Lawmakers File Brief In EPA Case http://wuky.org/post/ky-lawmakers-file-brief-epa-case <p>Senator Mitch McConnell and other GOP lawmakers filed an amicus brief Monday in a case involving EPA powers. Mon, 16 Dec 2013 22:23:14 +0000 Josh James 42000 at http://wuky.org Ky. Lawmakers File Brief In EPA Case SOAR Conferees Hear Of Similarities To Minnesota http://wuky.org/post/soar-conferees-hear-similarities-minnesota <p class="ap-story-p">A former Minnesota lawmaker and his father told a gathering in Appalachia that the future of the coal industry may lie in cooperation and innovation. Tue, 10 Dec 2013 11:58:32 +0000 Associated Press 41674 at http://wuky.org SOAR Conferees Hear Of Similarities To Minnesota U.S. Chamber Of Commerce Throwing Weight Behind McConnell http://wuky.org/post/us-chamber-commerce-throwing-weight-behind-mcconnell <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">The U.S. Chamber of Commerce will spend more than $180,000 to run a TV ad across Kentucky promoting Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell. Mon, 02 Dec 2013 18:29:33 +0000 Associated Press 41313 at http://wuky.org U.S. Chamber Of Commerce Throwing Weight Behind McConnell Coal Supporters Rally In Washington While Report Questions U.S. Coal Supply http://wuky.org/post/coal-supporters-rally-washington-while-report-questions-us-coal-supply <p>Thousands of coal miners gathered at the Capitol in Washington Tuesday to rally against Environmental Protection Agency regulations. Wed, 30 Oct 2013 22:22:55 +0000 Josh James 39823 at http://wuky.org Coal Supporters Rally In Washington While Report Questions U.S. Coal Supply Federal Rule Changes To Help Black Lung Victims http://wuky.org/post/federal-rule-changes-help-black-lung-victims <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">CHARLESTON, W.Va.- Changes to federal black lung rules are expected to make it easier for coal miners and their families to obtain benefits.</span> Wed, 25 Sep 2013 16:57:24 +0000 Associated Press 38092 at http://wuky.org Federal Rule Changes To Help Black Lung Victims Federal Judge: Army Corps Of Engineers Not Required To Consider Full Effects Of Mining http://wuky.org/post/federal-judge-army-corps-engineers-not-required-consider-full-effects-mining <p>LOUISVILLE, Ky. - A federal court decision has cleared the way for James River Coal to mine 756 acres of mountain on the Perry-Knott county line. A U.S. District Judge ruled the Army Corps of Engineers does not have to consider the cumulative health impact caused by surface mining before it issues a permit. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 20:36:26 +0000 Josh James 36673 at http://wuky.org Federal Judge: Army Corps Of Engineers Not Required To Consider Full Effects Of Mining Coal Supporters Push Back On President's Climate Change Proposals http://wuky.org/post/coal-supporters-push-back-presidents-climate-change-proposals <p>LOUISVILLE, Ky. - Political leaders from coal-rich Kentucky were quick to denounce climate change initiatives announced by President Barack Obama, saying efforts to reduce carbon dioxide emissions will hurt the state's mining industry and drive up energy costs. Tue, 25 Jun 2013 19:41:50 +0000 Associated Press 33579 at http://wuky.org Coal Supporters Push Back On President's Climate Change Proposals Report Says More Woes For Appalachian Coal Mining http://wuky.org/post/report-says-more-woes-appalachian-coal-mining <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LOUISVILLE, Ky. - A new report says hard times are expected to continue for the coal industry in Central Appalachia, which at one time was the hub of the nation's coal production.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">Coal business in the mountains of eastern Kentucky and southern West Virginia is facing declining reserves, higher production costs and competition from other coal basins and natural gas.</span></p> Tue, 14 May 2013 18:50:17 +0000 Associated Press 31496 at http://wuky.org Report Says More Woes For Appalachian Coal Mining