budget http://wuky.org en "Leaky Bucket" Report Finds Progress In Ky. Spending Trends http://wuky.org/post/leaky-bucket-report-finds-progress-ky-spending-trends <p>In an update to its “Leaky Bucket” report, the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce says the state is making progress addressing some troubling trends. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:15:27 +0000 Josh James 51726 at http://wuky.org "Leaky Bucket" Report Finds Progress In Ky. Spending Trends Council Committee Recommends Upping Social Services Budget http://wuky.org/post/council-committee-recommends-upping-social-services-budget <p>Mayor Jim Gray’s suggested $313 million general fund budget could jump by $1.5 million&nbsp; if the council presses forward with a number of proposals. Wed, 28 May 2014 17:41:20 +0000 Josh James 49655 at http://wuky.org Council Committee Recommends Upping Social Services Budget Mayor Gray Unveils His Vision For 2014 Budget http://wuky.org/post/mayor-gray-unveils-his-vision-2014-budget <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Mayor Jim Gray has officially outlined his $297 million spending plan for 2014, which he's calling a business-like plan with "a dose of Warren Buffett for investments and the Good Samaritan for taking care of our neighbors." Tue, 09 Apr 2013 21:46:28 +0000 Josh James & Brenna Angel 29830 at http://wuky.org Mayor Gray Unveils His Vision For 2014 Budget In-Depth: More Non-profits Receiving City Funds Under Proposed Budget http://wuky.org/post/depth-more-non-profits-receiving-city-funds-under-proposed-budget <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Lexington&rsquo;s Urban County Government is in the process of developing a budget for the next fiscal year, and a small portion of city money will go to what are called &ldquo;partner agencies.&rdquo;&nbsp; Brenna Angel reports on a new system officials used this year that&rsquo;s allowing more non-profit organizations to use the funds. Wed, 02 May 2012 16:35:49 +0000 Brenna Angel 13844 at http://wuky.org In-Depth: More Non-profits Receiving City Funds Under Proposed Budget Legislative Leaders Reach Agreement on State Budget http://wuky.org/post/legislative-leaders-reach-agreement-state-budget <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - After a long night of discussions, Kentucky lawmakers have finally reached a $19 billion budget agreement. House and Senate leaders resolved their differences shortly before 3 a.m. Thursday. Thu, 29 Mar 2012 12:07:25 +0000 Kenny Colston, Kentucky Public Radio & Associated Press 12183 at http://wuky.org Legislative Leaders Reach Agreement on State Budget House Passes Budget Bills http://wuky.org/post/house-passes-budget-bills <p>Budgets for all three branches of state government have now passed one chamber of the Kentucky General Assembly.</p><p>The House spent more than an hour debating the details of the executive, legislative and judicial budgets before easily passing all three.<br /><br /> The House did slightly change Gov. Steve Beshear&rsquo;s original executive budget. And lawmakers also cut the legislative and judicial budgets by 8.4 percent.</p> Thu, 08 Mar 2012 00:49:49 +0000 Kenny Colston, Kentucky Public Radio 11027 at http://wuky.org House Passes Budget Bills Ky. House to Vote on Austere Budget by Next Week http://wuky.org/post/ky-house-vote-austere-budget-next-week <p><strong>&nbsp;</strong>FRANKFORT, Ky.&nbsp; The House is expected to vote on an austere state budget by the middle of next week.</p><p>House Speaker Greg Stumbo said he doesn&#39;t expect a lot of changes from Gov. Steve Beshear&#39;s original budget proposal presented to lawmakers in January.</p><p>Beshear&#39;s $19.5 billion, two-year budget proposal includes 8.4 percent cuts to most state agencies.</p><p>The House Appropriations and Revenue Committee is expected tovote on the budget on Tuesday. The measure could then be considered by the full House on Wednesday.</p> Fri, 02 Mar 2012 13:55:06 +0000 Associated Press 10744 at http://wuky.org Ky. House to Vote on Austere Budget by Next Week Budget Proposal Would Expand Preschool Eligibility http://wuky.org/post/budget-proposal-would-expand-preschool-eligibility <p><span class="article-content"><span>LEXINGTON, Ky. -- More low-income Kentucky families would be able to send their child to public preschool under a plan to expand eligibility requirements.<br /><br /> Half-day preschool programs are currently open to 4-year-olds in families with income at or below 150 percent of the federal poverty level. In his budget proposal, Governor Steve Beshear would raise that income cap to 160 percent of the poverty level.<br /> Thu, 16 Feb 2012 19:20:48 +0000 Brenna Angel 10001 at http://wuky.org Budget Proposal Would Expand Preschool Eligibility