Kentucky Wildcats Basketball http://wuky.org en Twin Magic Returning To UK http://wuky.org/post/twin-magic-returning-uk <p>UK Athletics has officially confirmed the return of Aaron and Andrew Harrison to the Kentucky Wildcats for the 2014-15 basketball season. Fri, 25 Apr 2014 17:30:13 +0000 UK Athletics & WUKY Staff 48034 at http://wuky.org Twin Magic Returning To UK Dakari Johnson Returning To UK For Sophomore Season http://wuky.org/post/dakari-johnson-returning-uk-sophomore-season <p>Freshman center Dakari Johnson will return to the Kentucky men’s basketball program for the 2014-15 season, he announced Wednesday. Wed, 23 Apr 2014 20:43:55 +0000 UK Athletics & WUKY Staff 47924 at http://wuky.org Dakari Johnson Returning To UK For Sophomore Season James Young Leaving UK Early For NBA Draft http://wuky.org/post/james-young-leaving-uk-early-nba-draft <p>University of Kentucky freshman James Young&nbsp;will forego his sophomore season and enter his name in this year's NBA Draft. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 19:13:53 +0000 UK Athletics & WUKY Staff 47608 at http://wuky.org James Young Leaving UK Early For NBA Draft Former Wildcat Terrence Jones Arrested For Stomping A Homeless Man http://wuky.org/post/former-wildcat-terrence-jones-arrested-stomping-homeless-man <p>PORTLAND, Ore. — Portland, Ore., police say former Kentucky Wildcat Terrence Jones has been arrested and accused of stomping on a homeless man's leg.</p><p></p><p>Police spokesman Sgt. Pete Simpson says the incident happened early Wednesday outside a downtown nightclub. A sergeant saw the 6-foot-9 Jones walk by a doorway where two homeless men were sleeping and yell "Wake Up!" before lifting his foot and stomping on the legs of one.</p><p>Jones was booked into the county Jail on a harassment charge.</p> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 20:13:03 +0000 Associated Press 35340 at http://wuky.org Former Wildcat Terrence Jones Arrested For Stomping A Homeless Man U.S. Education Sec. Calls For Improved Academic Standards For Student Athletes http://wuky.org/post/us-education-sec-calls-improved-academic-standards-student-athletes <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan is one of a number of officials calling on universities to place more emphasis on academic benchmarks in coaches’ incentive packages. Fri, 22 Mar 2013 16:41:34 +0000 Josh James 29049 at http://wuky.org U.S. Education Sec. Calls For Improved Academic Standards For Student Athletes Wildcats Get Another High-Ranking Recruit For Next Year http://wuky.org/post/wildcats-get-another-high-ranking-recruit-next-year <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. – The number two ranked high school prospect in the country is joining the Kentucky Wildcats.&nbsp; 6’9” power forward Julius Randle picked UK over Kansas, Florida, and Texas.&nbsp;</p><p>The senior from Prestonwood Christian Academy in Plano, TX, announced his decision at his high school just after 1pm.</p><p>A foot injury cost Randle much of his senior season, but he returned to lead his team to a state championship and will play in the McDonald’s All-American game in April. &nbsp;</p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 18:37:16 +0000 WUKY Staff 28931 at http://wuky.org Wildcats Get Another High-Ranking Recruit For Next Year Robert Morris Upends Kentucky In NIT Opener http://wuky.org/post/robert-morris-upends-kentucky-nit-opener <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">MOON, Pa. -- Mike McFadden hit two free throws with 8.7 seconds remaining and Robert Morris shocked defending national champion Kentucky 59-57 in the opening round of the NIT on Tuesday night.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">The Wildcats decided not to call timeout after the second free throw but Kyle Wiltjer's 3-pointer before the buzzer bounced harmlessly off the rim, sending hundreds of students onto the court as Robert Morris ruined Kentucky coach John Calipari's homecoming.</span></p> Wed, 20 Mar 2013 02:16:57 +0000 Associated Press 28895 at http://wuky.org Robert Morris Upends Kentucky In NIT Opener