Steve Beshear http://wuky.org en Governor Beshear To Implement New Science Standards http://wuky.org/post/governor-beshear-implement-new-science-standards <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- New science education standards that call for greater focus on teaching the theories of evolution and climate change in Kentucky classrooms will be implemented despite a finding by a legislative panel that they're deficient, a spokesman for Gov. Steve Beshear said Wednesday.</span></p><p></p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 01:26:28 +0000 Associated Press 37421 at http://wuky.org Governor Beshear To Implement New Science Standards Beshear Had No Advance Knowledge Of Grimes Announcement http://wuky.org/post/beshear-had-no-advance-knowledge-grimes-announcement <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear acknowledged Tuesday he wasn't given a heads-up before fellow Democrat Alison Lundergan Grimes announced her U.S. Senate bid last week, but said he didn't see the lack of a courtesy call or an invitation to the event as a slight.</span></p><p></p> Wed, 10 Jul 2013 00:31:29 +0000 Associated Press 34236 at http://wuky.org Beshear Had No Advance Knowledge Of Grimes Announcement Beshear Still Considering Hemp Bill, Massie Pushing Federal Legislation http://wuky.org/post/beshear-still-considering-hemp-bill-massie-pushing-federal-legislation <p>FRANKFORT, Ky.&nbsp; Gov. Steve Beshear has until Saturday to sign or veto a bill that would open the door to industrial hemp farming in Kentucky. So far, he hasn't said what he'll do. Tue, 02 Apr 2013 12:21:30 +0000 Associated Press & Dan Conti of Kentucky Public Radio 29508 at http://wuky.org Beshear Still Considering Hemp Bill, Massie Pushing Federal Legislation Governor Prepared for Special Session http://wuky.org/post/governor-prepared-special-session <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - State lawmakers return to Frankfort Tuesday for the start of the 2013 legislative session, and Governor Steve Beshear is already predicting the need to go past the 30 days scheduled for work. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 01:59:41 +0000 Brenna Angel 25656 at http://wuky.org Governor Prepared for Special Session Beshear Not Optimistic Over Gambling Bill http://wuky.org/post/beshear-not-optimistic-over-gambling-bill <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- After years of pushing to legalize casino-style gambling in Kentucky, Gov. Steve Beshear sounds less than optimistic just days before the start of the next legislative session.</span></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 18:15:59 +0000 Associated Press 25547 at http://wuky.org Beshear Not Optimistic Over Gambling Bill Campaign To Target "Smurfers" http://wuky.org/post/campaign-target-smurfers <P>LEXINGTON, Ky. - Customers waiting in the pharmacy lines across the state will soon see a new warning posted on the walls. Tue, 20 Nov 2012 00:02:31 +0000 Josh James 23707 at http://wuky.org Campaign To Target "Smurfers" Kentucky Health Exchange On Schedule http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-health-exchange-schedule <P>FRANKFORT, Ky. - Governor Steve Beshear says Kentucky is on track to meet federal deadlines to create and manage its own health exchange, as mandated by the new health care reform law. That’s despite heated debate inside the joint Health and Welfare committee last month over the legality of the governor’s executive order creating the exchange. Mon, 01 Oct 2012 18:47:40 +0000 Josh James 21460 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Health Exchange On Schedule Kentucky Tax Amnesty Window Officially Open http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-tax-amnesty-window-officially-open <P>FRANKFORT, Ky. - Ten years ago, a tax amnesty program in Kentucky added about $41 million dollars to state coffers. Now, as the state deals with the lasting effects of the recession, state officials are hoping a similar offer will once again generate some much-needed revenue. Mon, 01 Oct 2012 18:41:56 +0000 Josh James 21459 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Tax Amnesty Window Officially Open Gov. Beshear Yet To Rule Out Former Gubernatorial Challenger For Judicial Seat http://wuky.org/post/gov-beshear-yet-rule-out-former-gubernatorial-challenger-judicial-seat <P>FRANKFORT, Ky. - Governor Steve Beshear has not ruled out longtime political opponent Senate President David Williams for an open judicial seat in Williams’ district. Wed, 26 Sep 2012 19:09:32 +0000 Josh James 21245 at http://wuky.org Gov. Beshear Yet To Rule Out Former Gubernatorial Challenger For Judicial Seat Governor Beshear Reads To Kids At "The Nest" http://wuky.org/post/governor-beshear-reads-kids-nest <P>LEXINGTON, Ky. - A group of kids at The Nest Child Care Center in Lexington welcomed a special storyteller Monday – Governor Steve Beshear. Beshear spoke to&nbsp;WUKY after the event about the effect Kentucky’s new health care exchange could have on children in the Bluegrass.&nbsp;&nbsp; Mon, 27 Aug 2012 18:34:21 +0000 Josh James 19742 at http://wuky.org Governor Beshear Reads To Kids At "The Nest"