Expanded Gaming http://wuky.org en Top House Dems Downplay Chances For Gambling Bill http://wuky.org/post/top-house-dems-downplay-chances-gambling-bill <p>House Democratic leaders are downplaying chances to pass expanded gambling legislation that could bring casinos to <font color="red">Kentucky</font>. Wed, 12 Feb 2014 01:01:06 +0000 Associated Press 44494 at http://wuky.org Top House Dems Downplay Chances For Gambling Bill Support Lacking In Senate For Casino Gambling Bill http://wuky.org/post/support-lacking-senate-casino-gambling-bill <p>A prominent Republican says he hasn't lined up enough Senate support to pass a proposed ballot measure aimed at legalizing casinos. Tue, 11 Feb 2014 03:27:36 +0000 Associated Press 44436 at http://wuky.org Support Lacking In Senate For Casino Gambling Bill In-Depth: 2014 Legislative Session Preview http://wuky.org/post/depth-2014-legislative-session-preview <p>The Kentucky General Assembly kicks off its 2014 session Tuesday. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 22:07:09 +0000 Josh James 42834 at http://wuky.org In-Depth: 2014 Legislative Session Preview Beshear Not Optimistic Over Gambling Bill http://wuky.org/post/beshear-not-optimistic-over-gambling-bill <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- After years of pushing to legalize casino-style gambling in Kentucky, Gov. Steve Beshear sounds less than optimistic just days before the start of the next legislative session.</span></p><p></p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 18:15:59 +0000 Associated Press 25547 at http://wuky.org Beshear Not Optimistic Over Gambling Bill Kentucky Lawmakers Optimistic Gambling Bill Will Pass http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-lawmakers-optimistic-gambling-bill-will-pass <p style="margin:0px 0px 15px; padding:0px; border:0px; font-size:15px; vertical-align:baseline; color:rgb(51,51,51); font-family:Georgia,Times,serif; line-height:22px">LEXINGTON, Ky. - After years of defeat, Kentucky lawmakers believe an expanded gambling bill could become law next year.&nbsp;</p><p></p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 00:39:40 +0000 Kenny Colston 24564 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Lawmakers Optimistic Gambling Bill Will Pass Stumbo Says Gambling Bill Can Start In The House http://wuky.org/post/stumbo-says-gambling-bill-can-start-house <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky.&nbsp; -- House Speaker Greg Stumbo is no longer demanding that any legislation calling for a constitutional amendment to legalize gambling in Kentucky start in the Senate.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">"That line in the sand doesn't have to be drawn anymore," Stumbo told reporters during a Capitol press conference on Thursday. "I don't care if it's a House bill or a Senate bill."</span></p> Fri, 30 Nov 2012 00:21:48 +0000 Associated Press 24134 at http://wuky.org Stumbo Says Gambling Bill Can Start In The House Administration, Tracks Seek High Court Review http://wuky.org/post/administration-tracks-seek-high-court-review <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The issue of slot-like games at Kentucky&#39;s racetracks is headed back to the Kentucky Supreme Court.</span> Thu, 19 Jul 2012 01:56:04 +0000 Associated Press 17673 at http://wuky.org Administration, Tracks Seek High Court Review Beshear Unveils Long-Awaited Gambling Amendment Proposal http://wuky.org/post/beshear-unveils-long-awaited-gambling-amendment-proposal <p><span class="article-content"><span>Gov. Steve Beshear presented a plan Tuesday to amend Kentucky&#39;s Constitution to allow up to seven casinos to open in the state, most of them at horse tracks.</span></span></p> Tue, 14 Feb 2012 17:02:12 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 9876 at http://wuky.org Beshear Unveils Long-Awaited Gambling Amendment Proposal