Agriculture Commissioner Jamie Comer http://wuky.org en Comer Signals Moves Toward 2015 Gubernatorial Bid http://wuky.org/post/comer-signals-moves-toward-2015-gubernatorial-bid <p>It may not come as a surprise for anyone tuned into Kentucky politics, but a Comer run for governor now appears to be taking shape. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 05:36:00 +0000 Josh James 51469 at http://wuky.org Comer Signals Moves Toward 2015 Gubernatorial Bid McConnell, Comer Pressure DEA To Release Hemp Seeds http://wuky.org/post/mcconnell-comer-pressure-dea-release-hemp-seeds <p>The Drug Enforcement Administration is under mounting pressure to release the 250 pounds of hemp seed intended for pilot projects in the state. Thu, 15 May 2014 17:09:43 +0000 Josh James 49016 at http://wuky.org McConnell, Comer Pressure DEA To Release Hemp Seeds Comer: Expect Hemp Pilot Project Very Soon http://wuky.org/post/comer-expect-hemp-pilot-project-very-soon <p>With congressional passage of the Farm Bill likely this week, hemp could come to Kentucky as early as this year. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 21:21:28 +0000 Josh James 43861 at http://wuky.org Comer: Expect Hemp Pilot Project Very Soon Farm Bill Could Give Kentucky The Go Ahead On Hemp http://wuky.org/post/farm-bill-could-give-kentucky-go-ahead-hemp <p>Hemp production may be on the verge of a comeback in Kentucky, where the non-potent cousin of marijuana once thrived. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 21:36:21 +0000 Associated Press & Josh James 43801 at http://wuky.org Farm Bill Could Give Kentucky The Go Ahead On Hemp Justice Dept. Clears The Way For Industrial Hemp In Ky. http://wuky.org/post/justice-dept-clears-way-industrial-hemp-ky <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. -- A ruling by the U-S Justice Department will honor state laws on regulated marijuana sales, which greenlights production of industrial hemp in Kentucky.</p><p></p><p>State Agriculture Commissioner James Comer believes the ruling clarifies that the Federal Government does not and will not view Kentucky’s industrial hemp as an illegal product and they will not intervene on state passed laws on the issue.&nbsp; Kentucky lawmakers did that when they passed Senate Bill 50.&nbsp; Comer says growing hemp gives farmers another tool in the tool box.</p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 21:03:11 +0000 Karyn Czar 36869 at http://wuky.org Justice Dept. Clears The Way For Industrial Hemp In Ky. Ky. Hemp Supporters Gain Big Endorsement http://wuky.org/post/ky-hemp-supporters-gain-big-endorsement <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LOUISVILLE, Ky. -- Industrial hemp's repositioning toward mainstream status gained ground with a timely endorsement from the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce. But the plant's proponents have more work to do in cultivating support to legalize a crop that once was a Bluegrass state staple.</span></p><p></p> Sun, 20 Jan 2013 23:56:40 +0000 Associated Press 26184 at http://wuky.org Ky. Hemp Supporters Gain Big Endorsement