Statewide Smoking Ban http://wuky.org en Kentucky Smoking Ban Bill Is Dead, Sponsor Says http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-smoking-ban-bill-dead-sponsor-says <p>A contentious bill that would enact a statewide ban on smoking in shared public spaces and places of employment is dead, the sponsor says. Fri, 07 Mar 2014 15:07:40 +0000 Associated Press & Josh James 45549 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Smoking Ban Bill Is Dead, Sponsor Says Smoke-Free Legislation "Ready To Roll," But Could Face Uphill Battle In Senate http://wuky.org/post/smoke-free-legislation-ready-roll-could-face-uphill-battle-senate <p>It’s the fourth year lawmakers in Frankfort are pressing for a statewide smoke-free law, but advocates say the momentum is now on their side. Wed, 08 Jan 2014 21:31:47 +0000 Josh James 42937 at http://wuky.org Smoke-Free Legislation "Ready To Roll," But Could Face Uphill Battle In Senate More Kentuckians Support Smoke-Free Law, Survey Shows http://wuky.org/post/more-kentuckians-support-smoke-free-law-survey-shows <p>A smoke-free law covering all public places in Kentucky is now favored by nearly two-thirds of the state's adults. Mon, 06 Jan 2014 18:10:38 +0000 Greg Stotelmyer 42821 at http://wuky.org More Kentuckians Support Smoke-Free Law, Survey Shows Lawmaker To Resume Push For Statewide Smoking Ban http://wuky.org/post/lawmaker-resume-push-statewide-smoking-ban <p>State Rep. Susan Westrom promises to try again during the next legislative session to get a statewide smoke-free law passed. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 22:08:58 +0000 Greg Stotelmyer 40880 at http://wuky.org Lawmaker To Resume Push For Statewide Smoking Ban House Panel Passes Bill To Ban Smoking In Public http://wuky.org/post/house-panel-passes-bill-ban-smoking-public <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- Smokers would have fewer places to light up under legislation that was approved by the House Health and Welfare Committee on Thursday.</span></p><p class="ap-story-p">&nbsp;<span class="entry-content">The measure, supported by Gov. Steve Beshear, bans smoking in public places statewide.</span></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">The committee vote came one day after Beshear called on lawmakers in his annual State of the Commonwealth speech to pass the smoking ban.</span></p> Thu, 07 Feb 2013 20:12:32 +0000 Associated Press 27009 at http://wuky.org House Panel Passes Bill To Ban Smoking In Public Poll Shows Increased Support for Statewide Smoking Ban http://wuky.org/post/poll-shows-increased-support-statewide-smoking-ban <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - For the second year in a row, a poll shows a majority of Kentuckians favoring a&nbsp;statewide smoking ban.</p><p>Last year the poll, conducted by the Foundation for a Healthy Kentucky,&nbsp;showed a majority favored a ban for the first time.&nbsp;</p><p>And now that number has increased to 62 percent of registered voters favoring a statewide ban.&nbsp;Less than 40 percent opposed such a ban, while the rest had no opinion.&nbsp;</p> Mon, 07 Jan 2013 18:58:17 +0000 Kentucky Public Radio's Kenny Colston 25629 at http://wuky.org Poll Shows Increased Support for Statewide Smoking Ban