Mark Stoops http://wuky.org en Cats Show Fight In Gritty 35-28 Loss To Gamecocks http://wuky.org/post/cats-show-fight-gritty-35-28-loss-gamecocks <p class="ap-story-p">Connor Shaw passed for a TD and ran for another as No. 13 South Carolina held off a Kentucky comeback for a 35-28 victory Saturday night. Sun, 06 Oct 2013 03:36:23 +0000 Associated Press 38607 at http://wuky.org Cats Show Fight In Gritty 35-28 Loss To Gamecocks Stoops' Troops Still Trying To Find Rhythm http://wuky.org/post/stoops-troops-still-trying-find-rhythm <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kentucky's offense got the jump before the Wildcats' defense had the last word during Saturday's first scrimmage at Commonwealth Stadium.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">With two weeks remaining before the season opener against Western Kentucky, first-year coach Mark Stoops lamented that his team is still not where it should be at this point.</span></p> Sat, 17 Aug 2013 22:45:05 +0000 Associated Press 36199 at http://wuky.org Stoops' Troops Still Trying To Find Rhythm Stoops: Fans Will "Show Up In Droves" If UK Wins http://wuky.org/post/stoops-fans-will-show-droves-if-uk-wins <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">HOOVER, Ala. -- Mark Stoops thinks Kentucky fans are "starving" for the chance to celebrate and support a good football team at a school primarily known for basketball.&nbsp; The key word being good.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">"If we put a good product on the field, something the whole state's proud of, they'll show up in droves," Stoops said Wednesday at Southeastern Conference media days. "I'm not even worried about that. It's been evident thus far with how the fans support football.</span></p> Wed, 17 Jul 2013 17:19:24 +0000 Associated Press 34632 at http://wuky.org Stoops: Fans Will "Show Up In Droves" If UK Wins Football Spending Up In New UK Athletics Budget http://wuky.org/post/football-spending-new-uk-athletics-budget <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - The University of Kentucky Athletics Committee has approved an athletics budget that boosts funding for the school’s football program by $3M or 33 percent over last year. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 17:43:59 +0000 Josh James 32964 at http://wuky.org Football Spending Up In New UK Athletics Budget UK Coach Stoops Has Had "Whirlwind" First Two Weeks http://wuky.org/post/uk-coach-stoops-has-had-whirlwind-first-two-weeks <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LEXINGTON, Ky.-- New Kentucky coach Mark Stoops is finally able to stand still for a moment.</span><span class="entry-content">&nbsp; His thought process, however, remains at high speed.</span></p><p></p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 22:28:03 +0000 Associated Press 24976 at http://wuky.org UK Coach Stoops Has Had "Whirlwind" First Two Weeks Stoops Introduced To The Big Blue Nation http://wuky.org/post/stoops-introduced-big-blue-nation-0 <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. – The University of Kentucky football program has a new man in charge.&nbsp; Mark Stoops was officially introduced to a crowd of media and well wishers on Sunday.&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Stoops, one of the top defensive coordinators in the country, departs Florida State University, where his first order of business will be rebuilding a football program that went 0 and 8 in the Southeastern Conference this past season.</p><p></p> Sun, 02 Dec 2012 22:58:51 +0000 Alan Lytle 24222 at http://wuky.org Stoops Introduced To The Big Blue Nation