City of Lexington http://wuky.org en Lexington Forum Hosts First 2014 Mayoral Primary Debate http://wuky.org/post/lexington-forum-hosts-first-2014-mayoral-primary-debate <p></p><p></p><p>The Lexington forum hosted the first debate for the city’s mayoral primary.&nbsp;&nbsp; Thu, 01 May 2014 15:23:46 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 48316 at http://wuky.org Lexington Forum Hosts First 2014 Mayoral Primary Debate Poverty, Justice Focus of Community Assembly http://wuky.org/post/poverty-justice-focus-community-assembly <p></p><p>Over a thousand people filled the pews of Porter Memorial Baptist Church Tuesday for the 11th Annual Nehemiah Action Assembly.&nbsp; Wed, 09 Apr 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 47169 at http://wuky.org Poverty, Justice Focus of Community Assembly Fire Department to Give Away, Install Smoke Detectors http://wuky.org/post/fire-department-give-away-install-smoke-detectors <p></p><p>Lexington's Fire Department will be providing smoke and carbon monoxide detectors to the elderly and disabled.&nbsp; Tue, 14 Jan 2014 18:19:51 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 43191 at http://wuky.org Fire Department to Give Away, Install Smoke Detectors Plans to Renovate Rupp Arena Unveiled http://wuky.org/post/plans-renovate-rupp-arena-unveiled <p></p><p>Los Angeles architect Robert Mankin led a public meeting at Lexington's&nbsp; Hyatt Regency Wednesday to discuss upgrades to Rupp Arena.&nbsp; Thu, 09 Jan 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 42952 at http://wuky.org Plans to Renovate Rupp Arena Unveiled City Holds Public Hearing on Time Warner Cable http://wuky.org/post/city-holds-public-hearing-time-warner-cable <p></p><p>The city of Lexington held a hearing Monday seeking comment on the services of Time Warner Cable.&nbsp; Tue, 10 Dec 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 41667 at http://wuky.org City Holds Public Hearing on Time Warner Cable Gray Says City Ready to Face Storm http://wuky.org/post/gray-says-city-ready-face-storm <p></p><p>Lexington Mayor Jim Gray says the city has taken all necessary precautions to be ready for the upcoming winter storm. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 17:47:18 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 41524 at http://wuky.org Gray Says City Ready to Face Storm Visitor's Bureau Rebrands Itself http://wuky.org/post/visitors-bureau-rebrands-itself <p></p><p>Lexington's Convention and Visitor's Bureau is changing its name to VisitLex. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 16:51:21 +0000 Chase Cavanaugh 41416 at http://wuky.org Visitor's Bureau Rebrands Itself Lexington's Domestic Partner Benefits Proposal Moving Forward http://wuky.org/post/lexingtons-domestic-partner-benefits-proposal-moving-forward <p>A unanimous vote Tuesday moved partner benefits for city employees one step closer to reality. Tue, 05 Nov 2013 21:51:59 +0000 Karyn Czar 40113 at http://wuky.org Lexington's Domestic Partner Benefits Proposal Moving Forward Centrepointe Architects Disassociate Themselves From Downtown Project http://wuky.org/post/centrepointe-architects-disassociate-themselves-downtown-project <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. -- The Architectural firm responsible for the approved design of the long-delayed Centrepointe project has abruptly pulled out of the venture.</p><p></p><p>The Herald Leader reports that Lexington-based EOP Architects decided not to be associated with the multi-structure complex less than 3 weeks after the Courthouse Area Design Board approved the plan.</p><p>Members of the firm cited a number of factors all tied to their culture and design philosophy.</p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 14:47:42 +0000 WUKY Staff 37378 at http://wuky.org Centrepointe Architects Disassociate Themselves From Downtown Project Google Names Lexington Digital Capital of Ky. http://wuky.org/post/google-names-lexington-digital-capital-ky <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. – &nbsp;Internet search giant Google has named Lexington the digital capital of Kentucky.&nbsp; Lexington is the first Kentucky city to receive the Google "e-city award."</p><p>Google bestows the honor to the strongest online business community in each state.</p> Sat, 24 Aug 2013 21:49:27 +0000 WUKY Staff 36552 at http://wuky.org Google Names Lexington Digital Capital of Ky.