Kentucky Pension Reform http://wuky.org en Fitch Rates Kentucky Pension As Worst-Funded Major Plan http://wuky.org/post/fitch-rates-kentucky-pension-worst-funded-major-plan <p>A Kentucky pension plan continues to be one of the worst-funded major plans in the country, according to an annual report from Fitch. Thu, 15 May 2014 20:53:24 +0000 Josh James 49033 at http://wuky.org Fitch Rates Kentucky Pension As Worst-Funded Major Plan Senate OKs Change To Legislative Pension Provision http://wuky.org/post/senate-oks-change-legislative-pension-provision <p><span id="_oneup" style="font-size: 11px;">The Kentucky Senate has voted to rein in a state law that allows legislative pensions to be "supersized."</span> Thu, 23 Jan 2014 22:22:16 +0000 Associated Press 43568 at http://wuky.org Senate OKs Change To Legislative Pension Provision Gov. Beshear Stresses Education, Competitiveness In Budget Address http://wuky.org/post/gov-beshear-stresses-education-competitiveness-budget-address <p><kentucky< font=""> Gov. Steve Beshear laid out his budget priorities for the next two years in his Tuesday night address. Wed, 22 Jan 2014 01:16:50 +0000 Associated Press & Josh James 43488 at http://wuky.org Gov. Beshear Stresses Education, Competitiveness In Budget Address Kentucky Lawmakers Approve Pension Deals, Avert Special Session http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-lawmakers-approve-pension-deals-avert-special-session <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - Kentucky's legislative leaders have passed two bills to shore up the state's underfunded pension systems for government employees, effectively staving off a special session on the issue. Wed, 27 Mar 2013 12:29:36 +0000 Kenny Colston, Kentucky Public Radio 29257 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Lawmakers Approve Pension Deals, Avert Special Session Ky. Lawmakers Continue Work on Pension Reform, Compromise Appears Uncertain http://wuky.org/post/ky-lawmakers-continue-work-pension-reform-compromise-appears-uncertain <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - With only one day left in this year's legislative session, Kentucky House leaders are hopeful they have a deal to up shore up the state's underfunded pension system. But there may not be time to get it through the legislature. Tue, 26 Mar 2013 11:44:35 +0000 Kenny Colston, Kentucky Public Radio 29185 at http://wuky.org Ky. Lawmakers Continue Work on Pension Reform, Compromise Appears Uncertain Lawmakers Look For Common Ground On Pension Issue http://wuky.org/post/lawmakers-look-common-ground-pension-issue <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky. -- House and Senate leaders were optimistic Thursday that they could find common ground on government pension reforms as they move into the final days of a legislative session.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">One of the major sticking points is a Senate proposal to create a 401(k)-like retirement plan for new employees. The House adamantly opposes it.</span></p> Thu, 07 Mar 2013 23:49:28 +0000 Associated Press 28352 at http://wuky.org Lawmakers Look For Common Ground On Pension Issue Pension Fixes in Limbo As Leaders Argue Over Approaches http://wuky.org/post/pension-fixes-limbo-leaders-argue-over-approaches <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. -- A House bill aiming to help generate revenues for the underfunded pension system is in legal limbo as the Senate refused to accept the bill.</p><p></p><p>House Bill 416 takes revenues from expansion of Instant Racing and online lottery sales and the start of a Keno game to generate close to $100 million a year to pay into state's currently underfunded pensions for state employees.</p> Fri, 01 Mar 2013 15:07:22 +0000 Kentucky Public Radio's Kenny Colston 28028 at http://wuky.org Pension Fixes in Limbo As Leaders Argue Over Approaches Lexington And Louisville Mayors Push For Pension Reform http://wuky.org/post/lexington-and-louisville-mayors-push-pension-reform <p>FRANKFORT, Ky. - State and local officials, including Lexington Mayor Jim Gray, came together in Frankfort today to press for action to address rising pension costs. Mon, 07 Jan 2013 19:37:22 +0000 Josh James 25630 at http://wuky.org Lexington And Louisville Mayors Push For Pension Reform Public Retirees Could Lose Cost-Of-Living Hikes http://wuky.org/post/public-retirees-could-lose-cost-living-hikes <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">FRANKFORT, Ky.&nbsp; -- A legislative group asked to find ways to shore up Kentucky's public pension system recommended Tuesday the repeal of built-in cost-of-living increases for government retirees.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">That was among a list of proposals made by the Kentucky Public Pensions Task Force to rein in a growing unfunded liability that now exceeds $30 billion.</span></p> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 02:26:26 +0000 Associated Press 23769 at http://wuky.org Public Retirees Could Lose Cost-Of-Living Hikes