Local/Regional News http://wuky.org en $3.5M Grant To Fund Early Cancer Prevention http://wuky.org/post/35m-grant-fund-early-cancer-prevention <p>A $3.5M dollar grant from the CDC to the UK Rural Cancer Prevention center will help promote early detection of colorectal cancer in Appalachia. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 21:56:42 +0000 Karyn Czar 51807 at http://wuky.org $3.5M Grant To Fund Early Cancer Prevention Koch Brothers Backed Group Coming To Kentucky http://wuky.org/post/koch-brothers-backed-group-coming-kentucky <p>A group funded in part by conservative industrialists Charles and David Koch is setting up shop in the Bluegrass. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 20:06:12 +0000 Josh James 51790 at http://wuky.org Koch Brothers Backed Group Coming To Kentucky "Peace Walks" To Protest Violent Crime Outbreak http://wuky.org/post/peace-walks-protest-violent-crime-outbreak <p>With violent crime on the rise in recent weeks, city police are collaborating with community members to initiate a series of “peace walks.” Thu, 10 Jul 2014 19:53:50 +0000 Josh James 51783 at http://wuky.org "Peace Walks" To Protest Violent Crime Outbreak Police Union Suspends Vote On Cruiser Policy http://wuky.org/post/police-union-suspends-vote-cruiser-policy <p>Efforts to reinstate a policy allowing Lexington police officers to use city-owned police cruisers for personal use has hit a snag. Thu, 10 Jul 2014 19:38:11 +0000 Josh James 51782 at http://wuky.org Police Union Suspends Vote On Cruiser Policy "Leaky Bucket" Report Finds Progress In Ky. Spending Trends http://wuky.org/post/leaky-bucket-report-finds-progress-ky-spending-trends <p>In an update to its “Leaky Bucket” report, the Kentucky Chamber of Commerce says the state is making progress addressing some troubling trends. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:15:27 +0000 Josh James 51726 at http://wuky.org "Leaky Bucket" Report Finds Progress In Ky. Spending Trends Lexington Fairness Panel To Weigh Religious Freedom Arguments http://wuky.org/post/lexington-fairness-panel-weigh-religious-freedom-arguments <p>Lexington’s ordinance prohibiting discrimination based on sexuality or gender identity in work, housing, and public accommodation turns 15 this week. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 20:10:10 +0000 Josh James 51725 at http://wuky.org Lexington Fairness Panel To Weigh Religious Freedom Arguments Defensive Driving Course Tops 500 Graduates http://wuky.org/post/defensive-driving-course-tops-500-graduates <p>The Fayette County Attorney Driver Education Program marked its 500<sup>th</sup> graduate Wednesday.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 19:56:03 +0000 Josh James 51724 at http://wuky.org Defensive Driving Course Tops 500 Graduates McConnell Counters Grimes' Attack Ad With One Of His Own http://wuky.org/post/mcconnell-counters-grimes-attack-ad-one-his-own <p></p><p>Yesterday it was Alison Lundergan Grimes hitting the airwaves with a new campaign ad.&nbsp; Today her opponent Mitch McConnell followed suit.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 19:06:06 +0000 Karyn Czar 51723 at http://wuky.org McConnell Counters Grimes' Attack Ad With One Of His Own Judge Concerned About 1-Drug Execution Method http://wuky.org/post/judge-concerned-about-1-drug-execution-method <p>A <font color="red">Kentucky</font> judge has expressed concerns about the state's plan to use a single drug to carry out lethal injections. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 18:19:25 +0000 Associated Press 51717 at http://wuky.org Judge Concerned About 1-Drug Execution Method Grimes, McConnell Agree To Different Debates http://wuky.org/post/grimes-mcconnell-agree-different-debates <p>Sen. Mitch McConnell and Democratic challenger Alison Lundergan Grimes have agreed to debate each other - just not at the same time. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 17:57:36 +0000 Associated Press 51715 at http://wuky.org Grimes, McConnell Agree To Different Debates