UK Football http://wuky.org en Three Players Suspended From UK Football Team http://wuky.org/post/three-players-suspended-uk-football-team <p>Three players have been suspended from the UK football team for violating team rules. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 02:05:09 +0000 Associated Press 40896 at http://wuky.org Three Players Suspended From UK Football Team Kentucky Rally Falls Short In 28-22 Loss To MSU http://wuky.org/post/kentucky-rally-falls-short-28-22-loss-msu <p class="ap-story-p">Kentucky had the ball and a chance for its first Southeastern Conference victory under first-year coach Mark Stoops. Fri, 25 Oct 2013 11:09:12 +0000 Associated Press 39560 at http://wuky.org Kentucky Rally Falls Short In 28-22 Loss To MSU Cats Show Fight In Gritty 35-28 Loss To Gamecocks http://wuky.org/post/cats-show-fight-gritty-35-28-loss-gamecocks <p class="ap-story-p">Connor Shaw passed for a TD and ran for another as No. 13 South Carolina held off a Kentucky comeback for a 35-28 victory Saturday night. Sun, 06 Oct 2013 03:36:23 +0000 Associated Press 38607 at http://wuky.org Cats Show Fight In Gritty 35-28 Loss To Gamecocks UK Backfield Adjusting To Pass First Philosophy http://wuky.org/post/uk-backfield-adjusting-pass-first-philosophy <p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Kentucky will ask a lot of its running backs this season.</span><span class="entry-content">&nbsp; Carrying the ball might be the least of their responsibilities.</span></p><p></p><p class="ap-story-p"><span class="entry-content">New Wildcats offensive coordinator Neal Brown is implementing his pass-oriented "Air Raid" scheme that means the tailbacks' first priorities are catching passes and blocking.</span></p> Sun, 25 Aug 2013 12:37:27 +0000 Associated Press 36558 at http://wuky.org UK Backfield Adjusting To Pass First Philosophy Football Spending Up In New UK Athletics Budget http://wuky.org/post/football-spending-new-uk-athletics-budget <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. - The University of Kentucky Athletics Committee has approved an athletics budget that boosts funding for the school’s football program by $3M or 33 percent over last year. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 17:43:59 +0000 Josh James 32964 at http://wuky.org Football Spending Up In New UK Athletics Budget UK Fires Joker Phillips http://wuky.org/post/uk-fires-joker-phillips <p>LEXINGTON, Ky. -- Following Saturday's near historic loss to Vanderbilt, UK Athletic Director Mitch Barnhart has announced that head football coach Joker Phillips will not return next season.&nbsp; The Wildcats are currently mired in an eight game losing streak and attendance at home games has dramatically declined.</p><p>Barnhart announced the action in an "Open Letter To The Big Blue Nation"</p><p></p> Sun, 04 Nov 2012 20:05:55 +0000 wuky staff 22972 at http://wuky.org UK Fires Joker Phillips