Arun Rath http://wuky.org en In Defiance Of Arrests, Protests Erupt Again In Venezuela http://wuky.org/post/defiance-arrests-protests-erupt-again-venezuela Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>Now to Venezuela where violent clashes continue between antigovernment protesters and national guard security forces who are using water cannons and tear gas to break up demonstrations. On Friday, dozens of people, including journalists, were arrested. And on Saturday, more protests erupted around the city. So far, 18 people have died.<p>Joining us now in Caracas is reporter Girish Gupta who has been covering the unrest. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 22:12:00 +0000 Arun Rath 45325 at http://wuky.org A Sound Of Fear, Forged In The Shadow Of War http://wuky.org/post/sound-fear-forged-shadow-war <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMRmV1Sj6j4</p> Sat, 23 Nov 2013 23:07:00 +0000 Arun Rath 40977 at http://wuky.org A Sound Of Fear, Forged In The Shadow Of War LA's Own 'Amazing And Unique Instrument' Turns 10 http://wuky.org/post/las-own-amazing-and-unique-instrument-turns-10 If you were listening to NPR 10 years ago this week, you might have heard this enthusiastic proclamation: "The wait is finally over for architect <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=3622028" target="_blank">Frank Gehry</a>, for the musicians and staff of the LA Philharmonic, and for all of Los Angeles. Sat, 19 Oct 2013 21:05:00 +0000 Arun Rath 39264 at http://wuky.org LA's Own 'Amazing And Unique Instrument' Turns 10 The Minds Behind 'Einstein On The Beach' Talk Shop http://wuky.org/post/minds-behind-einstein-beach-talk-shop <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OZ5hTfDzU9A</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMUM_ANh8Fg</p> Sat, 12 Oct 2013 21:15:00 +0000 Arun Rath 38926 at http://wuky.org The Minds Behind 'Einstein On The Beach' Talk Shop Angola 3 Inmate Tastes Brief, 'Bittersweet' Freedom http://wuky.org/post/angola-3-inmate-tastes-brief-bittersweet-freedom Herman Wallace <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/10/04/229315414/angola-3-inmate-dies-just-days-after-being-freed">died early Friday</a> in New Orleans, three days after gaining his freedom. Wallace had spent the previous 41 years in solitary confinement in Louisiana.<p>While already serving a 50-year sentence for armed robbery, Wallace was convicted of the murder of a prison guard in 1974, along with Robert King and Albert Woodfox. Sat, 05 Oct 2013 21:45:00 +0000 Arun Rath 38598 at http://wuky.org Angola 3 Inmate Tastes Brief, 'Bittersweet' Freedom How Verdi Improved On Shakespeare http://wuky.org/post/how-verdi-improved-shakespeare <em></em>This past week may have been <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/deceptivecadence/2013/10/03/228921298/its-been-a-really-bad-week-for-classical-music" target="_blank">a rough one for the classical world</a>, but there is something to look forward to.<p>This coming week, we celebrate the 200th birthday of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16927552/giuseppe-verdi" target="_blank">Giuseppe Verdi</a>, composer of the best opera of all time. (That's right, Wagner fans. Start writing those letters.)<p>I'm talking about Verdi's spectacular rendering of <em>Othello, the Moor of Venice. Sat, 05 Oct 2013 21:45:00 +0000 Arun Rath 38603 at http://wuky.org How Verdi Improved On Shakespeare